Party Cadre Celebrate in Style

Published: 01st July 2015 05:49 AM  |   Last Updated: 01st July 2015 05:49 AM   |  A+A-

CHENNAI: The Chief Minister and AIADMK general secretary  J Jayalalithaa on Tuesday won the by-election to the RK Nagar Assembly constituency by a margin of 1,50,722 votes.

This is seventh consecutive victory for the ruling AIADMK in the by-elections held since May 2011.

In the past, by-elections were held for Tiruchy West, Sankarankovil (SC), Pudukkottai, Yercaud (ST), Alandur and Srirangam constituencies.

The AIADMK won all of them.

The margin with which the AIADMK candidates won these by-polls has been on an upward trend, except for the Alandur by-election.

Here are the margins in the six by-elections: Tiruchy West (14,684), Sankarankovil (68,757), Pudukkottai (71,498), Yercaud (78,116), Alandur (18,708) and Srirangam (96,516).

With this victory, the strength of the AIADMK will go up again to 152 in the State Assembly.

The strength of the other parties in the House is: DMDK (28), DMK (23), CPM (10), CPI (8), Congress (5), PMK (3), MMK (2), Puthiya Thamizhagam (2), AIFB (1).

The AIADMK supremo had an unassailable lead even before the first round of counting — i.e. from the counting of postal votes.

The results that followed as time went by floored all other candidates.

Her tally was increasing in each of the 17 rounds.

AIADMK workers were on cloud nine as the margin of Jayalalithaa went up each time and celebrated the moment by distributing sweets and bursting crackers at her Poes Garden residence.

There were celebrations even at the party headquarters on Lloyds Road here.

Former AIADMK MLA P Vetrivel, who is the Polling Agent of Jayalalithaa, received the certificate of election from Returning Officer Sowrirajan around 2.15 pm.

Almost all opposition parties boycotted the by-election. 

The Left parties put up CPI leader C Mahendran as their common candidate.

Traffic Ramaswamy made unfruitful attempts to get the support of the opposition parties and met DMK president M Karunanidhi, DMDK founder Vijayakant and others.

Though polling was peaceful except for some stray incidents, the Election Commission ordered repoll in booth 181 in which 85.54 per cent of voters exercised their franchise.

Meanwhile, Governor K Rosaiah and Union Minister of State for Transport and Highways Pon Randhakrishnan greeted Jayalalalithaa on her victory.

The Governor spoke to the Chief Minister over phone and congratulated her for the landslide victory and she thanked him for the greetings.

Radhakrishnan conveyed his greetings through a message sent to Jayalalithaa.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp