By-election: 15 poll papers rejected - The New Indian Express

By-election: 15 poll papers rejected

Published: 19th November 2013 08:47 AM

Last Updated: 19th November 2013 08:47 AM

After scrutiny of nominations filed for the by-election to Yercaud Assembly constituency on Monday, 15 nominations were rejected by the Returning Officer T Sabapathy.

The nominations of AIADMK candidate P Saroja, DMK’s V Maran, Uzhaipali Makkal Katchi’s P Selvan and nine independents have been accepted as valid. Observers appointed by the Election Commission were present during the scrutiny.

The last date for withdrawal of nominations is November 20 and the final list of candidates will be released on that day. Polling will be held on December 4 and the counting on December 8.

Already, both AIADMK and DMK have intensified their campaign in the constituency and they are awaiting for the leaders of their parties for the campaign in the last week this month. 

From Around the Web