Jaya Poll Machinery Primed as 40 Named for TN, Pondy Seats - The New Indian Express

Jaya Poll Machinery Primed as 40 Named for TN, Pondy Seats

Published: 25th February 2014 08:34 AM

Last Updated: 25th February 2014 09:27 AM

Marching ahead in the race for the Lok Sabha elections, AIADMK general secretary and Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa on Monday announced candidates for the 40 Lok Sabha constituencies in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry, even as the opposition parties in the State are yet to firm up alliances.

The AIADMK supremo also said she would launch a whirlwind campaign on March 3. She released the schedule for her State-wide tour till April 5.

She said seat-sharing talks with CPI and CPM were on and once the constituencies to be allotted to the Left parties were finalised, the AIADMK candidates announced for the constituencies would be withdrawn.

Significantly, the Chief Minister chose her birthday to release the list. Of the nine sitting MPs, only three were given tickets this time.

Those who were denied tickets were: Chitlapakkam C Rajendran (Chennai South) and K Sugumar (Pollachi), who were exposed by investigative website Cobrapost for allegedly expressing willingness to lobby for a fictitious foreign oil major for money, M Anandan (Villupuram), S Semmalai (Salem), V Sivasami (Tirupur) and OS Manian (Mayiladuthurai).

While 15 candidates are law degree holders, the  list contains four doctors. Except two candidates, all are graduates. Most of the nominees are new faces.

The AIADMK nominees were: Tiruvallur (SC): P Venugopal; Chennai North: TG Venkatesh Babu; Chennai South: Dr J Jayavardhan; Chennai Central: SR Vijayakumar; Sriperumpudur:

K N Ramachandran; Kancheepuram (SC): Maragatham Kumaravel; Arakkonam: G Hari; Vellore: P Senguttuvan; Krishnagiri: K Ashok Kumar;  Dharmapuri: PS Mohan; Tiruvannamalai: R Vanaroja; Arni: Chenji Seval V Elumalai; Villupuram (SC): S Rajendran; Kallakurichi: Dr K Kamaraj; Salem: V Panneerselvam; Namakkal:  PR Sundaram; Erode: Selvakkumara Chinnayan; Tirupur: V Sathyabhama; The Nilgiris (SC): Dr C Gopalakrishnan; Coimbatore: AP Nagarajan; Pollachi: C Mahendran; Dindigul: M Udhayakumar; Karur: Dr M Thambidurai; Tiruchy: P Kumar; Perambalur: RP Marudhairaj alias Marudharaja; Cuddalore: A Arunmozhithevan; Chidambaram (SC): M Chandrakasi; Mayiladuthurai: RK Bharathimohan; Nagapattinam (SC): Dr K Gopal; Thanjavur: K Parasuraman;  Sivaganga: PR Senthilnathan; Madurai: R Gopalakrishnan; Theni: R Parthiban;  Virudhunagar: D Radhakrishnan; Ramanathapuram: A Anwar Rajah; Tuticorin: J Jeyasingh Thyagaraj Nattarji; Tenkasi (SC): Vasanthi Murugesan; Tirunelveli: KRP Prabhakaran;  Kanyakumari: D John Thangam; and Puducherry: MV Omalingam.


Also Read

One Veteran, 8 Freshers to Face Test in West

AIADMK Youth Get Their Fair Share of Tickets in Chennai, Suburbs

CM to Kickstart Poll Campaign from Theradi  

comments powered by Disqus

Disclaimer: We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the NIE editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

Read More

follow us Mobile Site iPad News Hunt Android RSS Tumblr Linekin Pinterest Youtube Google Plus Twitter Facebook