Telangana: 62 barred from contesting polls for failing to submit expenditure details

Of the total 62, majority of which are Independents, about 17 persons who contested in the Assembly polls were disqualified for three years (up to January 7, 2022).

Published: 13th March 2019 07:53 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th March 2019 07:53 AM   |  A+A-

Election Commission

Election Commission of India (File | PTI)

Express News Service

HYDERABAD:  As many as 62 persons who contested the elections in the past, including 17 who fought in the State Assembly polls last year, have been disqualified from seeking re-election either to Parliamentary or Assembly elections up to 2022. They failed to submit their election expenditure details to the Election Commission of India (ECI) after which the decision was taken.

The ECI has issued updated list of 62 disqualified persons, of which 45 contested for Telangana Legislative Assembly and 17 contested for Telangana House of the People under section 10-A of the Representation of people Act, 1951 for the official use of the Returning Officers. 

Of the total 62, majority of which are Independents, about 17 persons who contested in the Assembly polls were disqualified for three years (up to January 7, 2022). They were disqualified under Section 10-A of RP, Act, 1951. They were debarred after ECI getting satisfied that these persons have failed to lodge an account of election expenses, within the time and in the manner required.

Candidates who are disqualified will not be able to contest elections for the next three years. Persons thus debarred from contesting election include those who contested election as independents after being denied tickets by the major political parties. Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Telangana, Rajat Kumar stated that last month the CEO office had sent letters to the persons who did not submit the details requesting them to send election expenditure details, even after 45 days of polls, the concerned persons failed to submit the details.

Ignored notices
CEO has written a letter to the ECI seeking to take action on the people who did not submit the expenditure details. The ECI Under Secretary, Santosh Kumar on March 8  has a sent letter to CEO, Telangana of debarring 62 persons including earlier and new ones. Now that ECI has taken a decision, the information concerning the status of their candidature will made public on its portal. 

As per the ECI list, as many as 15 persons are not entitled to contest up to June 2020, about 30 persons up to January 2021 and 17 candidates up to January 2022 hailing from all districts from Telangana.
As per the law, all candidates who contest elections have to submit details of their expenses in a stipulated format within 45 days after the election results are announced and include details of contributions received from various sources and the money spent on their campaigning.

Stay up to date on all the latest Telangana news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp