383 Babus Breach Property Returns Rule

They include 31 officers from the UT cadre, 39 from the Uttar Pradesh cadre, five from Haryana and 52 officers from the Madhya Pradesh cadre.

Published: 20th September 2015 08:08 AM  |   Last Updated: 20th September 2015 10:29 AM   |  A+A-

NEW DELHI:As many as 383 officers of the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) have failed to submit their Immovable Property Returns (IPR) this year within the stipulated time period notified by the government. They include 31 officers from the UT cadre, 39 from the Uttar Pradesh cadre, five from Haryana and 52 officers from the Madhya Pradesh cadre.

According to the government’s All-India Service (Conduct) Rules, all IAS officers need to file IPR by January 31 every year failing which they are denied vigilance clearance and are not considered for promotion and empanelment for senior-level posts in the Government of India.

Among the Union Territory (UT) cadre IAS officers in the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) list, Renu Sharma of the 1988-batch is serving as Deputy Chief of Mission at the Indian embassy in Brussels.

Narendra Kumar, also from the same batch, is Principal Secretary Urban Development, while 1990 batch’s Jitendra Narayan is serving as Secretary and Commissioner in the Labour Department and Dr Ashish Chandra Verma is Director in Ministry of Health and Family Welfare.

In the UT cadre, the highest number of officers to have defaulted is from the 2002 batch. They are Lalhmingthanga, G Ragesh Chandra, P R Meena, V Lalrenthanga and Rodney L Ralte. Three from the 2004 batch—Zothankhuma, serving as Chief GM in Delhi Transport Corporation; Sreekanth T, the Education Department Secretary in Pondicherry; Sanjay Goyal, Deputy Commissioner, Land Revenue Management in Meghalaya—also failed to submit the property returns on time.

In the UP cadre, DoPT has listed Disinvestment Secretary Aradhana Johri (1980-batch officer) in the defaulters’ list. Her batch mate and Principal Secretary in the Vocational Department Shailesh Krishna, also figures in the list.

Kunwar Fateh Bahadur, 1981-batch IAS officer and Principal Secretary (Jails), and Dr Surya Pratap Singh of the 1982 batch, currently serving as Principal Secretary, Industries, are also in the list. In the list of UP cadre, four each from 2004 and 2013 batches, and three each from 1983, 2002 and 2008 batches failed to submit the mandatory details on time.

Among the Haryana cadre officers, Anuradha Gupta (1981 batch), Sanjiv Kumar (1985 batch), Vijaykumar Bhavikatti (2011 batch), Nishant Kumar Yadav (2011) and Pradeeep Dahiya (2013 batch) did not file the IPR. Anuradha, according to the ER sheet of DoPT, is undergoing a training programme in Geneva.

According to data collected through the DoPT website, other cadres have fewer defaulters. Six officers from Chhattisgarh cadre, five from Rajasthan and two each from Himachal Pradesh and Maharashtra cadres failed to submit the returns, says the website that has been updated till September 18. The website has clearly stated that the “IAS officers are required to file IPR for the year 2014 by 31.01.2015. The State Governments have to upload these by 28.02.2015.”


Stay up to date on all the latest The Sunday Standard news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp