Winning margins of 13 MP ministers less than voters deleted from poll list

The victory margins of 13 Madhya Pradesh ministers are outstripped by the number of voters deleted from the poll lists in their constituencies between January and July, according to an analysis.

Published: 12th August 2018 09:29 AM  |   Last Updated: 12th August 2018 09:29 AM   |  A+A-

EVM, electronic voting machine

Image for representational purpose. | (File | PTI)

BHOPAL:  The victory margins of 13 Madhya Pradesh ministers are outstripped by the number of voters deleted from the poll lists in their constituencies between January and July, according to an analysis of the2014 poll results. Overall, 24 lakh names were deleted from the voter lists of the total 230 assembly seats. At the same time, more than 10.69 lakh new voters were added for the poll scheduled in November-December. Till July 31, the total number of voters stands at over 4.94 crore.

Cabinet ministers Jayant Malaiya, Narottam Mishra, Gourishankar Bisen, Rustam Singh, Umashankar Gupta, Yashodhara Raje, Maya Singh and Bhupendra Singh figure in the list of 13 ministers. Finance minister Jayant Malaiya won from Damoh by 4,953 votes - much less than the number of voter names deleted (7,184).  The list shows Mishra from Datia (11,697 win margin/12,712 deleted voters), Bisen from Balaghat (2,500 votes/8,718 deleted voters), Gupta from Bhopal South West (18,198 votes/25,820 deleted voters), Raje from Shivpuri (11,145 votes/21,928 deleted voters), Singh from Gwalior East (1,147 votes/14,733 deleted voters) and Bhupendra from Khurai (6,084 votes/17,171 deleted voters) on a sticky wicket.

Ministers of State Surendra Patwa, Lalita Yadav, Viswas Sarang, Surya Prakash Meena and Balkrishna Patidar are the other members in the list.But, the biggest surprise is BJP national general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya. His winning margin of 12,216 votes from Dr Ambedkar Nagar-Mhow is less than the total 19,309 voters deleted from the electoral list.And it’s not only the BJP ministers who have to worry about. Congress chief whip in Vidhan Sabha Ramniwas Rawat won by 2,149 votes in Vijaypur, whereas 8,609 names were expunged this time.

Giving company to Rawat are State Congress working president Jeetu Patwari and party leaders Sunderlal Tiwari and Govind Singh Congress spokesperson Pankaj Chaturvedi, who has been alleging existence of around 60 lakh “fake voters”, told The Sunday Standard that the list of 13 ministers vindicated his party’s stand on the bogus voters. 

Stay up to date on all the latest The Sunday Standard news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp