The final list for seven seats in Delhi may be out by Monday: Congress' PC Chacko 

According to a Congress leader, the party may finalise candidates for three remaining seats — East, South, and West Delhi — on Sunday. 

Published: 14th April 2019 10:03 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th April 2019 10:03 AM   |  A+A-

Congress Flag

The party says it is still open to an alliance with AAP. (File Photo | PTI)

NEW DELHI: AICC in-charge of Delhi unit PC Chacko held two rounds of meeting with former chief minister Sheila Dikshit on Saturday to discuss key issues for strategising campaign if the party has to go alone in the national capital for the Lok Sabha election.

“I met Sheilaji twice today. The meetings were convened in view of the elections. Discussions are going on to streamline and smooth coordination for election campaigning. Various committees for elections are to be set up,” Chacko said. “The final list for seven seats may be released in a day or two.” 

ALSO READ: Will fight alone in Delhi but willing to tie-up with AAP only in the national capital: Congress

After the Congress refused to stitch a pre-poll pact in Haryana, Punjab, and Goa, the AAP has announced to contest all seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi on its own.  Chacko has blamed the AAP leaders for the failure of alliance talks. He said through a seat-sharing formula was agreed upon, the AAP started to bargain for seats in three other states of Haryana, Punjab, and Goa.

According to a Congress leader, the party may finalise candidates for three remaining seats — East, South, and West Delhi — on Sunday. 

“There has been no communication on the alliance. As I have already said that they (AAP) had taken an impractical stand. We will finalise remaining candidates on tomorrow (Monday) as Congress president Rahul Gandhiji is in Karnataka. After which, we may release list of final seven on Sunday or Monday,” said Chacko, who was negotiating with AAP leader Sanjay Singh for a seat-sharing formula for elections in Delhi.

As talks for a coalition with the AAP failed, the Congress had finalised its candidates for four parliamentary constituencies in its Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting on Thursday. The shortlisted nominees are Kapil Sibal (Chandni Chowk), Rajkumar Chouhan (Northwest Delhi), Ajay Maken (New Delhi) and Jai Prakash Agarwal (Northeast Delhi).

Stay up to date on all the latest The Sunday Standard news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp