Australia elections

Indian-origin Dave Sharma wins Wentworthin seat in Australia federal election

The Liberal candidate and former Australian ambassador to Israel is the first Indian-origin lawmaker in the country's Parliament after winning a seat in Sydney suburb.

published on : 22nd May 2019

Australian PM Scott Morrison declares victory; Bill Shorten steps down as Labor leader

Around 16 million Australians swarmed to the polling booths across the country on Saturday to elect the nation's 31st prime minister, in what was widely referred to as the climate-change election.

published on : 19th May 2019

Australia's ruling conservative coalition elected to surprise third term

The conservatives became a rare minority government after they dumped Malcolm Turnbull for Morrison in an internal power struggle last August.

published on : 18th May 2019

Climate sceptic former Australia PM Tony Abbott falls in election

Steggall said earlier Saturday she believed she could win and was running in the election to give locals a choice.

published on : 18th May 2019

Australia's opposition confident as voting ends

Shorten has been campaigning hard on more ambitious targets to reduce Australia's greenhouse gas emissions.

published on : 18th May 2019

Counting starts in Australian poll with opposition confident

Opposition leader Bill Shorten had said Saturday morning that he was confident Labor would win, but Morrison would not be drawn on a prediction.

published on : 18th May 2019

Australia's election, a campaign across a continent

In just 48 hours on the campaign trail this week, Australia PM Scott Morrison travelled 8,000 kilometres.

published on : 17th May 2019