Samajwadi Party MLA booked for asking people to boycott shops run by BJP supporters

In a video, Samajwadi Party MLA Nahid Hasan is seen asking people to boycott shops being run by BJP supporters in Kairana.

published on : 23rd July 2019

Will vote for peace, say 2013 Muzaffarnagar riot victims

The victims of the 2013 riots, who have been living in refugee camps for the last six years, have said that they will vote for peace in the ensuing Lok Sabha elections, slated to begin from April 11.

published on : 7th April 2019

Stung by the by-poll drubbing, BJP out to save grace in Kairana

Kairana is the most crucial for the BJP because the party had lost it to Tabassum Hasan of SP who had fought on RLD ticket as a joint opposition candidate in the by-poll last year in October.

published on : 23rd March 2019

Left with little room in SP-BSP alliance, RLD leader Jayant Chaudhury discusses seat-sharing with Akhilesh Yadav

Akhilesh Yadav may agree to spare one seat from the SP’s quota to the RLD or the two leaders may work out a formula under which SP candidates can contest on the RLD symbol.

published on : 16th January 2019

Bypoll results: Repeat jolts to BJP speeds up Opposition unity plan

Talks about Opposition unity ahead of the 2019 national polls got a leg up after the Congress and its allies scored over the BJP in the four Lok Sabha and 10 Assembly bypolls across the country.

published on : 1st June 2018

Lok Sabha bypoll results: Advantage Opposition as BJP loses the plot on retaining turf

The BJP’s loss in nine out of 10 Lok Sabha by-elections ever since it came to power in 2014 appears to confirm the trend of its failing to defend its territory though making gains in rivals' states.

published on : 1st June 2018

Politics of fatwa temporarily overpowered politics of development: Uttar Pradesh BJP chief on bypoll loss

State BJP chief Mahendra Nath Pandey said the BJP will review its performance in the Kairana bypoll to ascertain "what went wrong" for the party.

published on : 31st May 2018

Back-to-back defeats for BJP in bypolls denting Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath's image?

Fall of Gorakhpur, Yogi stronghold, and Phulpur in March followed by Kairana and Noorpur despite a robust campaign by the CM himself has put a question mark on Yogi’s leadership.

published on : 31st May 2018

It is a defeat of divisive forces: SP chief Akhilesh Yadav on bypolls in Uttar Pradesh

The Samajwadi Party chief said that the victory of Kairana and Noorpur was an indication of the politics of future.

published on : 31st May 2018

Bypoll results: United Opposition serves another blow to BJP, stops saffron poll juggernaut in Uttar Pradesh

The opposition passed the test of acceptance of its grand alliance by wresting both Kairana Lok Sabha and Noorpur Assembly seats by consolidating anti-BJP votes.

published on : 31st May 2018

RLD wins Kairana Lok Sabha​ bypoll by huge margin 

Tabassum  Hasan polled 4,81,182 votes, while Mriganka Singh of the BJP got 4,36,564 votes, a difference of 44,618 votes, the election office said.

published on : 31st May 2018

Counting of votes begins for four Lok Sabha, 10 assembly constituencies

The bypolls which were conducted on Monday were marred by complaints of EVM malfunction necessitating repolling in some centres which happened on Wednesday.

published on : 31st May 2018

Bypolls: Faulty EVMs reported from various places

As the polling in 14 Lok Sabha and assembly constituencies in ten state of India is underway, faulty Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) have been reported from many booths.

published on : 28th May 2018

Uttar Pradesh bypoll: Over 21 per cent polling till 11 AM in Kairana

In the first two hours the voter turnout has been slow and only 12 per cent polling has been recorded in Uttar Pradesh's Kairana parliamentary seat on Monday, a poll official said.

published on : 28th May 2018

Uttar Pradesh: Voting for Kairana, Noorpur bypolls begins

Voting for the high-stakes by-elections to Kairana parliamentary constituency and Noorpur assembly constituency in Uttar Pradesh began this morning.

published on : 28th May 2018
1 2 >