Hectic lobbying for Mayoral polls begin

Election likely on April 26; Mayor’s post reserved for 2A, deputy’s post for general categories

Published: 31st March 2012 02:22 AM  |   Last Updated: 16th May 2012 09:51 PM   |  A+A-

BANGALORE:  The election for the posts of Mayor and Deputy Mayor for Bangalore City is expected to be held on April 26. The term of the incumbent Mayor Sharadamma and Deputy Mayor S Harish will end on April 23. The Mayor’s post is reserved for 2A Category and  the Deputy Mayor’s post is for General Category.  As soon as the tentative election dates were announced, the lobbying for the posts intensified. For the post of Mayor, councillors belonging to Kuruba, Nekara, Tigala, Madiwala and Devanga are eligible.

According to BBMP sources, D Venkatesh Murthy (Katriguppe Ward) who belongs to Kuruba community, is one of the strong contenders for the Mayor’s post. It is said he also enjoys the blessings of State BJP President K S Eshwarappa.

B Somashekhar, second-time councillor from Shakambarinagar (Ward No 179)  who belongs to Kuruba  community and close to Jayanagar MLA Vijaykumar is also a contender. Shanthakumari of Mudalapalya Ward, said to be Housing Minister V Somanna’s candidate, is also in the race.

The aspirants for the Deputy Mayor’s post are many as it is reserved for General Category. Councillors like Ashwathnarayana Gowda (Kodigehalli Ward) and N Nagaraj (Byrasandra) are among them.

When contacted, ruling party leader B R Nanjundappa said BBMP Commissioner M K Shankarlinge Gowda has forwarded a letter to the Election Commission to hold the Mayoral polls on April 26. “We are waiting for the approval,” he said.

When asked about the aspirants for Mayor and Deputy Mayor’s posts, Nanjundappa said the party high command will decide about it. Nanjundappa also said that though there is provision to conduct election for various Standing Committees for BBMP, it will be held a day after the Mayoral polls. Meanwhile, the ruling party President’s post, which will fall vacant after April 23, has also a couple of aspirants. Dr Rajkumar Ward councillor Gangabhyrayya and Vijayanagar councillor Ravindra are eyeing the post. Jayamahal councillor Gunashekar and Madiwala councillor Manjunath Reddy have set their eyes on the Opposition leader’s post. Congress sources said Gunashekar has almost been finalised for the Opposition leader’s post.

Stay up to date on all the latest Bengaluru news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp