Prize winners inspire youth

Published: 29th September 2012 10:28 AM  |   Last Updated: 29th September 2012 10:28 AM   |  A+A-

The inquisitive minds working in their labs towards the biggest breakthrough in fields of nanotechnology, bioinorganic chemistry and mathematical sciences have got their due. Four who are among the recipients of Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award for scientists under 45 have a Bangalore connection.

 Ravishankar Narayanan, associate professor, Materials Research Centre, Indian Institute of Science, has been chosen for his work in engineering.  Arindam Ghosh, associate professor at IISc got the award for Physics.  Govindsamy Mugesh, associate professor, Department of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry at IISc has been chosen for his achievements in chemical sciences.  Prof Siva Ramachandran Athreya is from Indian Statistical Institute.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp