Fresh faces in new BBMP chief’s team

Published: 01st June 2013 12:11 PM  |   Last Updated: 01st June 2013 12:11 PM   |  A+A-

Winds of change are blowing through the Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) corridors. Commissioner Siddaiah retired from service on Friday, a few other officers are retiring and some have sought Voluntary Retirement Scheme (VRS).

Senior IAS officer M Lakshminarayana, who took over as Palike Commissioner, will now head a new team officers at BBMP.

Additional Commissioner (West) K N Chandrashekar is retiring and Additional Commissioner (Bommanahalli) Hemaji Naik is also seeking voluntary retirement. With this, of the eight zones, two will have additional commissioners.

BBMP Engineer-in-Chief B T Ramesh retired from service on Friday and a senior Chief Engineer in BBMP will be posted as Engineer-in Chief. On Friday, Chief Health Officer Dr Devaki Umesh too retired.

Health officer (East) Dr Nagaraj will be the next CHO.Also, N Devaraj, a Chief Engineer cadre officer, who is heading the Technical Vigilance Cell under Commissioner (TVCC), has applied for VRS.

Councillors, cutting across party lines, had criticised the TVCC for recommending cancellation of many civil works that it found unnecessary.  Hurt by the criticism, Devaraj has applied for VRS.

New Mayor

Soon, the city will have a new mayor and deputy mayor too.  The mayoral election was to be held on April 27 as Mayor D Venkatesh Murthy’s one-year term was to end on April 26.

The elections were put on hold after two Congress councillors approached the High Court questioning the roster system of mayor/deputy mayor posts.

On April 19, the court directed that either the mayor or deputy mayor’s post should be reserved for Scheduled Tribes (ST).

The state government filed a writ in the High Court on April 25 challenging the High Court’s direction.

The court is yet to give its final judgment, and till then, Venkatesh Murthy will continue as Mayor.

However, after the Mayor’s election, BBMP will have new chairpersons for standing committees.

Opposition and Ruling party leaders may also change.

Stay up to date on all the latest Bengaluru news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp