25 Schools Cite Minority Tag, Refuse RTE Seats at Last Minute

Over 25 schools in Bangalore South are allegedly refusing to admit children under the Right To Education (RTE) Act,

Published: 19th April 2014 07:55 AM  |   Last Updated: 19th April 2014 08:31 AM   |  A+A-

Over 25 schools in Bangalore South are allegedly refusing to admit children under the Right To Education (RTE) Act, claiming they have now been granted minority status. Education officials, however, say the minority status was given only recently, and would not impact this year’s admissions.

“They sought the status after the completion of the RTE process for 2014-15,” an official told Express.

The Block Education Officer (BEO) of Bangalore South (3) has issued notices to the 25 schools.

“Students who got seats by draw of lots should be accommodated,” an official said.

According to documents available with Express, over 2,000 students have got RTE seats at these schools.

“My daughter got a seat at Bethany School in Koramangla, but when I went there they claimed they had got minority status and so would not admit her,” said a parent.

Another parent had applied at Frank Anthony School in Ulsoor. “We had not received any communication. When we approached the school, they said they were now exempt,” she said.

Meanwhile, the RTE Task Force, a voluntary group, is trying to help parents by approaching the courts. “We have contacted some advocates,” said Nagasimha G Rao, its convenor.  “We are receiving complaints mainly in Bangalore South. These 25 schools don’t figure in the minority schools’ list announced by the department,” he said.

As the process related to RTE was completed on March 29, parents are now struggling to admit their children at other schools. “We are ready to pay half the regular fee. Let them consider our children,” said a desperate parent.

Peter Lemos, principal, St Francis School, Koramangala, said, “We had got the minority status in 2008 and submitted the documents to the department. But they did not add our name to the list.”

The 25 schools

Mitra Academy School, Aradhana School (both Arakere), St Ann’s School (Akshaya Nagar), Jnana Prakasam Educational Institution, Presidency School (both Bilekahalli), Lourde Lower Primary School (Ulsoor), Bala Yesu School (Viveknagar), St Agnes School  (Museum Road), Cathedral High School (Ashoknagar), East Wood School, Lourde Higher Primary School, Frank Anthony School (all Ulsoor), Good Shepherd School (Shantalanagar), Carmel Academy (Gottigere), Holy Christ School (Jayanagr 4th Block), Carmel Convent (Jayanagar 4th T Block), BET Primary School (Gurappana Palya), Nirmala School (Shantinagar), Khals Public school (Madivala), St Francis School, Bethany School (both Koramangala), Mary Immaculate School (Lakkasandra), Christ School (Suddgunta Palya), CES School (Jayanagar) and St Francis School (Hongasandra)

Stay up to date on all the latest Bengaluru news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp