FICCI-FLO Award: 14 Women Feted for Their Achievements

Fourteen women achievers from various backgrounds were felicitated with the ‘Women of the Future Awards-2016’.

Published: 23rd April 2016 04:21 AM  |   Last Updated: 23rd April 2016 04:21 AM   |  A+A-


BENGALURU:  Fourteen women achievers from various backgrounds were felicitated with the ‘Women of the Future Awards-2016’ on Friday.

The award is instituted by FICCI-FLO, the ladies organisation of the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI).

The awardees include — Anita Nair (author), Vasundhara Das (singer), Sejal Shah Gulati (entrepreneur), Ruchira Ramanujan and Ranjini Rao (bloggers), Dr Shalini Shetty (doctor), Natasha Chandy (animal activist), Shruthi Jaipuria (interior designer), Urmila Venugopal (artist), Sharmila Mandre (actress), Anuradha Vikranth (dancer), Shruthi Raju (comedienne), Geeta Varadan, (scientist), Susheela Amma (social worker) and Capt Roopa (Air India pilot).

Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of the award function, Arundhati Nag, who was among the guests of honours, hoped that the award presentation ceremonies for women stop being exclusive.

“I think, instead of women, men should be giving these awards,” she said adding that women still had to endure patriarchy at different levels and that eventually the hope was to arrive at a stage of empowerment where the awards were unisex.

FLO’s Salute to Excellence

FICCI Ladies Organisation (FLO) was established in 1983 to encourage women entrepreneurs. Since then, the awards are being given annually to women who have excelled in various fields including media, theatre, business, art and culture, technology among others.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp