Infosys Science Foundation annual awards

Published: 19th November 2016 01:43 AM  |   Last Updated: 19th November 2016 03:30 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

BENGALURU: Infosys Science Foundation (ISF) has announced the winners of the Infosys Prize 2016 on Friday. The prize recognizes researchers and scientists in the categories of engineering and computer science, humanities, life sciences, mathematical sciences, physical sciences and social sciences.

The prize for each category consists of a purse of `65 lakh, a 22 karat gold medallion and a citation. The winners were shortlisted from over 250 nominations by a jury comprising of renowned scientists and professors.

The winners

  • Prof V Kumaran from the Department of Chemical Engineering, Indian Institute of Science (IISc) -- Engineering and computer science
  • Prof Sunil Amrith from Harvard University, US -- Humanities
  • Dr Gagandeep Kang from Technology Institute (THSTI), Faridabad -- Life sciences
  • Prof Akshay Venkatesh from Stanford University, US -- Mathematics
  • Dr Anil Bhardwaj from Space Physics Laboratory, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Thiruvananthapuram -- Physical Sciences
  • Prof Kaivan Munshi from University of Cambridge, UK -- Social sciences
Stay up to date on all the latest Bengaluru news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp