Infosys Science Foundation honours six achievers in Bengaluru

Winners from various fields got prizes for their research, information and development work.

Published: 06th January 2019 11:12 AM  |   Last Updated: 06th January 2019 11:12 AM   |  A+A-

Infosys Science Foundation

Left to right: The winners with Narayana Murthy | Shriram B N

By Express News Service

BENGALURU: Infosys Science Foundation (ISF) honoured six winners of the Infosys Prize 2018 at an award ceremony in Bengaluru on Saturday evening. 

The Infosys Prize is given to individuals who have made significant contributions in the fields of engineering and computer science, humanities, life sciences, mathematical sciences, physical sciences and social sciences. 

The six winners are Navakanta Bhat, professor at IISc, and Chairperson, Centre for Nano Science and Engineering; Kavitha Singh, Dean, School of Arts and Aesthetics, JNU; Roop Malik, Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai; Nalini Ananthraman, Chair of Mathematics, Institute for Advanced Study, University of Strasbourg, France; S K Satheesh, Professor, Centre for Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, IISc, and Director, Divecha Centre for Climate Change; and Sendhil Mullainathan, Professor of Computation and Behavioral Science and George C Tiao Faculty Fellow, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business.

The awardees were honoured with pure gold medals, citation and a cash prize of US $100,000 each. Kavitha Singh touched upon how the atmosphere in JNU had “changed” over the last few years. “For example, when I checked my email today, I realised that the leave I had applied for attending the award ceremony had been rejected by the Vice Chancellor,” she said. 

What they won it for

Navakanta Bhat (engineering and computer science category) - For his work on the design of novel biosensors based on his research in biochemistry and gaseous sensors that push the performance limits of existing metal-oxide sensors. Kavitha Singh (humanities category). For her study of Mughal, Rajput and Deccan art, as well as her insightful writing on the historical function and role of museums and their significance in the increasingly conflicted social world in which visual culture exists today. Roop Malik (life sciences category).

For his pioneering work on molecular motor proteins, which are crucial for the functioning of living cells. Nalini Ananthraman (mathematical sciences category). For her work related to ‘Quantum Chaos’. S K Satheesh (physical sciences category). For his pioneering scientific work in the field of climate change. Sendhil Mullainathan (social sciences category). For his path-breaking work in behavioural economics.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp