Palike top officer will now be ‘chief commissioner’

Will work with eight zonal commissioners; functioning will be decentralised

Published: 01st April 2021 03:44 AM  |   Last Updated: 01st April 2021 03:44 AM   |  A+A-

Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) Council

Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) Council (File photo| EPS)

By Express News Service

BENGALURU: To  ensure better administration and implement the new BBMP Act, the state government issued orders on Wednesday that the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike Commissioner will now be called the ‘Chief Commissioner’, and the eight zonal commissioners will start their work from April 1. The order included the names of the zonal commissioners: East Zone — Manoj Jain; West Zone — Basavaraju S; South Zone — Tulasi Madineni; Dasarahalli — Ravindra SG; RR Nagar — B Reddy Shankar Babu; Bommanahalli — Rajendra Cholan; Mahadevapura and Yelahanka — D Randeep.

According to the orders, the special commissioners are the new zonal commissioners, however, all paper communication will be issued only by the chief commissioner. The orders also stated that all work orders will be given as per the new Act, which will continue until there is no contradiction to the Karnataka Town and Country Planning Act and rules.

Officials from the urban development department and BBMP explained that it was a step towards making the new BBMP Act a reality, and decentralise the functioning of BBMP. “Until now, everyone used to come to the BBMP head office to get their issues resolved. Now, zonal commissioners will work as BBMP commissioners of their zones, and the post of the BBMP commissioner, until now a post of principal secretary, has also been upgraded to the post of additional chief secretary. Citizens now need not come to the head office or approach the BBMP Commissioner as they used to earlier for every query,” they said.



Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp