Southern railway plans more trains from Chennai

Published: 02nd July 2013 08:20 AM  |   Last Updated: 02nd July 2013 08:20 AM   |  A+A-

The Southern Railway has announced that new train services for Bikaner, Santragachi, Palani and Thanjavur would be introduced from Chennai this year. However, the date of introduction would be notified later.

According to the new timetable released by the Southern Railway, which came into effect on July 1, new air-conditioned express trains, connecting Chennai Central with Bikaner and Santragachi would be launched.

Apparently, Train No.16003/16004 Chennai Central – Nagarsol (for Sai Nagar Shirdi) Exp. weekly train will depart from Chennai Central with stoppages in Arakkonam, Tiruttani, Puttur, Renigunta, Razampeta, Cuddapah, Yerraguntla, Tadipatri, Gooty, Dhone, Kurnool Town, Gadwal, Mahbubnagar, Kacheguda, Malkajgiri, Kamareddi, Basar, Mudkhed, Hazoor Saheb Nanded, Purna, Parbhani, Jalna and Aurangabad.

The Southern Railway has also announced two new express trains connecting the State capital with two important towns in South Tamil Nadu.

An express train between Chennai and Palani is on cards. The train will have stoppages at Arakkonam, Katpadi, Jolarpettai, Salem, Namakkal, Rasipuram, Karur, Dindigul, Akkaraipatti, Oddanchatram and Chatrappatti.

Besides, a daily train service from Chennai Egmore to Thanjavur would be introduced this year. The train will stop at Tambaram, Chengalpattu, Melmaruvathur, Tindivanam, Villupuram, Cuddalore Port Jn., Chidambaram, Mayiladuthurai, Kuttalam, Aduthurai, Kumbakonam and Papanasam. 

Train no.16177/16178 Chennai Egmore – Tiruchchirappalli/Kumbakonam Rock Fort Exp. will be short terminated at Tiruchchirappalli. Train no. 16089/16090 Chennai Central - Tirupattur Yelagiri Express will be short terminated at Jolarpettai from July 1.

On the other hand, the train numbers of the following trains will be re-numbered with effect from dates mentioned against each train:

Chennai Egmore – Mangalore Central Exp. (Daily) Present - 16107/16108

New - 16859/16860 from September 1.

Chennai Central – Mysore Kaveri Exp. (Daily)

Present 16222/16221

New - 16021/16022 from September 1.

Chennai Egmore – Rameswaram Exp. (Daily) Present - 16701/16702

New - 16101/16102 from September 1.

Chennai Egmore –Tiruchendur Exp. (Daily) Present - 16735/16736

New - 16105/16106 from September 1.

The departure timing of five existing trains departing from Chennai Central has been revised. Accordingly, Train number 16053 Chennai Central – Tirupati exp. would depart at 2.10 pm, instead of 1.50 pm. Train no. 17311 Chennai Central – Vasco-da-Gama exp. would depart at 1.50 pm. Train number 17313 Chennai Central – Hubli exp. would depart at 1.50 pm. While train number 22860 Chennai Central – Puri exp. would depart at 4.20 pm, train number 22826 Chennai central – Shalimar exp. would start at 4.20 pm from Chennai Central.

Moreover, the departure of Train no. 12661 Chennai Egmore – Sengottai Pothigai Exp. has been revised to 8.10 pm. The arrival time of Train no. 11064 Mettur Dam/Salem – Chennai Egmore exp. has been advanced by 10 minutes.

Stay up to date on all the latest Chennai news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp