Living by the ideals of Valluvar

Published: 18th July 2013 11:23 AM  |   Last Updated: 18th July 2013 11:23 AM   |  A+A-


Shriram Ilakkiya Kazhagam, the literary wing of Shriram Group, will present the Thiruvalluvar Aram Award for the year 2012 to renowned physician Dr K V Thiruvengadam.

The announcement of the award was made by R Thyagarajan, Chairman, Shriram Group, here on Wednesday.

Founded in 1987, Shriram Ilakkiya Kazhagam is working towards the betterment of society by highlighting value-based living as underscored in Thirukkural.

Thiruvalluvar Aram award was introduced in 2003 to recognise and honour noble institutions or individuals whose activities and achievements have showcased high ideals in life, as portrayed in Thirukkural.

Till date, the award has been presented six times to various persons and institutions.

Professor Avvai Natarajan, president, Shriram Ilakkiya Kazhagam said,“This year, we received a total of 63 nominations for the award. The search committee of Shriram Ilakkiya Kazhagam finally chose one among those nominations.”

Announcing the award, R Thyagarajan, chairman, Shriram Group, said, “Dr K V Thiruvengadam’s service in the domain of medicine is invaluable. He has given lives to many suffering patients. He always believed that government hospitals provide much better treatment. We take pride in honouring such a role model who stood for a social cause all his life. Through Aram awards, the message we take to the younger generation is that the greatest height of one’s achievement lies in how humane one is to the society.”

Dr K V Thiruvengadam (87), popularly known as Dr KVT has served as a professor of medicine in Stanley Medical College and Madras Medical College for 31 years. After retirement, he continued to teach for another 25 years in private institutions. He has authored several research papers and books on medicine. He is the recipient of several awards, including Padma Shree and Dr B C Roy Awards.

The award selection committee comprises Prof Avvai Natarajan, president, Shriram Ilakkiya Kazhagam and members G Ranga Rao, IAS (retd), Dr A M Swaminathan, IAS (retd) and R Kannan, director, Shriram Group.

Earlier awardees include individuals such as Dr G Venkataswamy, Founder, Aravind Eye Hospitals, Madurai; R Elango, Founder, Trust for Village Self-Governance, Kuthambakkam, Tiruvallur; Dr R Sakthivadivel, water resources engineering expert and institutions such as DHAN Foundation, Madurai Gandhigram Trust, Dindigul, and The Banyan, Chennai.

The award function will be held on July 24 at Narada Gana Sabha, TTK Road, at 6 pm.

Governor Dr K Rosaiahwill confer the award.

Stay up to date on all the latest Chennai news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp