Saikumar New Boss of Electricity Board

Published: 03rd December 2014 06:03 AM  |   Last Updated: 03rd December 2014 06:03 AM   |  A+A-

CHENNAI: In a major reshuffle, the State government on Tuesday transferred many senior IAS officers, including PWD Secretary M Saikumar, Revenue Secretary Gagandeep Singh Bedi and Food, Cooperation Secretary MP Nirmala.

Saikumar has been appointed as the Chairman of TNEB. He will also function as the CMD of TANGEDCO. NS Palaniappan, hitherto Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Secretary, will be taking over as the new PWD Secretary.

Gagandeep Singh Bedi will take over as the Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Secretary. R Venkatesan, hitherto Commissioner of Town and Country Planning, has been appointed as the new Revenue Secretary. Irai Anbu, hitherto Secretary, Director of Anna Institute of Management and Director General of Training will be taking over as the Commissioner of Economics and Statistics.

Former Pudukottai Collector C Manoharan has been appointed as Director of Agricultural Marketing and Agri Business. Niranjan Mardi has been appointed as the Vice-Chairman and CEO of TN Maritime Board.

Mohammed Nasimuddin, has been appointed as the Secretary for Cooperation, Food and Consumer Protection Department. He replaces M P Nirmala, who will be taking over as the Chair and MD  of TN Small Industries Corporation.

Dharmendra Pratap Yadav will be assuming charge as the Housing and Urban Development Department Secretary.

Stay up to date on all the latest Chennai news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp