Jaya is AIADMK Candidate for RK Nagar By-Poll

Already the DMK, PMK and VCK has announced that they are boycotting the by_election for various reasons.

Published: 29th May 2015 10:35 PM  |   Last Updated: 29th May 2015 10:37 PM   |  A+A-


CHENNAI: As widely expected, AIADMK general secretary J Jayalalithaa has been announced as party candidate for the by-election to RK Nagar Assembly Constituency which is scheduled to be held on June 27.

In a statement here, AIADMK supremo Jayalalithaa said a decision to this effect was taken at a meeting of party's parliamentary board. 

P Vetrivel, representing RK Nagar constituency resigned as member of the State Assembly on May 17. Following which the Election Commission announced the schedule for the by-election on May 26.

Already the DMK, PMK and VCK has announced that they are boycotting the by_election for various reasons. The BJP, DMDK, CPM and CPI are yet to announce their stand. TNCC president EVKS Elangovan has said that his party would take a decision on contesting the Election Commission gives an assurance that money power would not be allowed in the by-election. Meanwhile, social worker Traffic Ramaswamy has decided to contest the by-election and has been canvassing support from all opposition parties.

The filing of nominations will begin from June 3 and last date for filing nominations will be June 10.  Scrutiny of nominations will take place on June 11 and June 13 will be the last date for withdrawal of candidates.  Polling will take place on June 27 and the counting of votes is scheduled for June 30.  The results also will be declared on the same day.

The ruling AIADMK is facing its seventh by-election since May 23, 2011, when the 14th Assembly was constituted. In the past, by-elections were held for Tiruchy West, Sankarankovil (SC), Pudukottai, Yercaud (ST), Alandur and Srirangam Assembly constituencies and the AIADMK has won all of them.  

At present, the party position in the State Assembly is : AIADMK including Speaker (151), DMDK (28), DMK (23), CPM (10), CPI (8), Congress (5), PMK (3), MMK (2), Puthiya Thamizhagam (2), AIFB (1) and Vacant (1).

Stay up to date on all the latest Chennai news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp