Alliances Create Fissures in Parties

Disgruntled party leaders to contest the polls as independent candidates

Published: 09th April 2014 09:06 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th April 2014 09:16 AM   |  A+A-

The electoral alliances between the Congress and the CPI on the one hand  and the TDP and the BJP on the other have not gone well with several leaders of these parties in the district. Several such disgruntled party leaders have reportedly decided to defect to other parties or contest the elections as independent candidates.

As per their tie-up terms, the Congress has left the Munugode and Devarakonida Assembly seats to the CPI. Palvai Shravanthi, daughter of Rajya Sabha member Palvai Goverdhan Reddy, who was aspiring for a party ticket for the Munugode Assembly  constituency seat, is said to have decided to enter the fray as an independent candidate. She will file her nomination on Wednesday.

The allotment of the Devarakonda Assembly seat to the CPI has thoroughly upset sitting Congress MLA Balu Nayak. In this context, the Congress High Command (CHC) is said to have assured Nayak of a ZP chairman post.

Meanwhile, with the CHC’s decision to renominate former minister Komatireddy Venkat Reddy for the Nalgonda Assembly seat has reportedly angered the Muslims and they have decided to work against him.

Coming to the TDP-BJP tie-up, the former has left the Alair, Munugode and Nalgonda assembly constituencies and the Bhongir LS constituency to the latter.

Kancharla Bhupal Reddy, who was expecting a TDP ticket for the Nalgonda Assembly constituency, is sore with the party leadership for ‘dictching’ him. He is likely to file his nomintation papers on Wednesday as an Indpendent.

Similarly, Bhongiri TDP MLA Uma Madhava Reddy is sore with the party leadership for allowing more seats to the followers of Thungathurty MLA Mothkupally Narsimhulu.

On the other hand, Sankineeni Venkateshwar Rao, a BJP leader from Suryapeta constituency who was hoping to be fielded as the party candidate for the Suryapeta Assembly seat, is unhappy with the seat being let to the TDP in the alliance. Hence, Rao’s followers staged a dharna at the BJP state office in Hyderabad.

Meanwhile, former Nakrekal MLA and a senior CPM leader Nomula Narsimhaiah on Tuesday resigned from the party and joined the TRS in protest against the denial of the CPM ticket to him for contesting for the Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly seat.

However, all the four parties - Congress, CPI, TDP and BJP - are hoping that the wrinkles in the alliances will be ironed out in the days to come.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp