SFI Alliance Sweeps UoH Student Union Elections

SFI, TSF, DSU and TVV alliance emerged as the sole winner in the University of Hyderabad (UoH) students’ union elections.

Published: 10th October 2015 05:59 AM  |   Last Updated: 10th October 2015 06:02 AM   |  A+A-

HYDERABAD:After a month-long of intense political activity, the Students Federation of India (SFI), Tribal Students Forum (TSF), Dalit Students Union (DSU) and Telangana Vidhyarthi Vedika (TVV) alliance emerged as the sole winner in the University of Hyderabad (UoH) students’ union elections for the academic year 2015-16.

The SFI-TSF-DSU-TVV alliance bagged all the nine  posts of the union including the president, general secretary and vice-president. Zuhail KP, a PhD student from the department of physics secured 1,603 votes to win the president post with a clear majority over his closest opponent, Garikapati Gurajada of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidhyarthi Parishad (ABVP) who got 1,264 votes.

Mudavath Venkatesh from the same alliance has been elected as the vice-president with 1,191 votes. Another key post of general secretary was won by Raju Kumar Sahu. N Shiva Durga Rao, C Srilatha, Sandeep Kumar won the joint secretary, cultural secretary and sports secretary posts respectively.

All the winning candidates represented the SFI-TSF-DSU-TVV alliance in the elections.  Three posts in the Gender Sensitisation Committee against Sexual Harassment (GSCASH) were also won by the same alliance. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Hyderabad news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp