Term of 9 HC Judges Extended

Published: 22nd October 2015 05:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 22nd October 2015 05:01 AM   |  A+A-

HYDERABAD: The Union government has accepted the recommendation to extend the term of nine additional judges of the Hyderabad High Court for a period of three months.

The Centre has notified the extension of term of Justices B Siva Shankar Rao, M Seetharama Murthy, S Ravi Kumar, U Durga Prasad Rao, T Sunil Chowdary, M Satyanarayana Murthy, MSK Jaiswal, A Shankar Narayana and Anis for three months on Wednesday. The nine judges were appointed as additional judges in October 2013.

As per rules, the above nine judges have to become permanent judges, but due to the  stalemate with regard to the National Judicial Appointments Commission (NJAC), the collegium of the Supreme Court, which is the competent body to make recommendations, has become defunct.

Stay up to date on all the latest Hyderabad news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp