Combined Graduation Parade: Men in blue set to take charge of skies

Combined Graduation Parade of cadets at Dundigal Air Force Academy sees 113 officers graduating

Published: 17th June 2018 05:24 AM  |   Last Updated: 17th June 2018 05:30 AM   |  A+A-

Youths who graduated from the Dundigal Air Force Academy are all smiles, in Hyderabad on Saturday | Vinay Madapu

By Express News Service

HYDERABAD: Heads held high and hearts filled with pride, as many as 113 flying cadets marched past according ceremonial salute to the reviewing officer, exuding confidence and readiness to answer the call of duty. Air Force Academy (AFA), Dundigal, on the outskirts of Hyderabad on Saturday witnessed the Combined Graduation Parade of cadets who will now become Flying Officers of Indian Air Force.

Air Chief Marshal Birender Singh Dhanoa, the Chief of Air Staff (COAS), reviewed the parade. He was received by Air Marshal SRK Nair, Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Training Command and Air Marshal Amit Tiwari, Commandant of AFA Dundigal.

Addressing the cadets, the Chief of Air Staff told the new inductees of IAF to remain in heightened state of preparedness by dynamically adapting to the continuously changing environment, keeping in view changing geopolitical and strategic environment and varied security challenges faced by India. He also said that India is going through a transformational shift to continuously modernise its armed forces, and the young officers should widen their horizon and keep pace with the swiftly advancing technology to exploit the true potential of the Aerospace Power.

The 113 officers who will add new blood to the IAF include 13 women officers. Of the 113, 80 are pilots, six navigators and 27 ground duty officers, who earned their coveted ‘Wings and Brevets’, along with 6 officers of Indian Navy and five officers of Indian Coast Guard upon successful completion of their flying training.

Mid-air aerobatics make it a day to remember
Hyderabad: Flying Officer Tarun Nair from the Flying branch was awarded President’s Plaque and the Chief of the Air Staff ‘Sword of Honour’ for standing first in Overall Merit in Pilot Course, whereas Flying Officer Abhishek Bajpai and Flying Officer Banti were awarded President’s Plaque for standing first in overall merit in Navigation and Ground Duty branches respectively.  The ceremony began with a display by Akash Ganga, the sky diving team of IAF. However, one unfortunate incident occurred during the display when one of the team members had a fall as he landed on the tarmac. He  sustained some injuries.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp