'I' group to take over Kumbalam Panchayat

Published: 09th May 2013 10:42 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th May 2013 10:42 AM   |  A+A-

In line with the power-sharing agreement singed by the Congress(A)  and (I) groups at Kumbalam Panchayat, the I group is set to take over the  governance. As part of it, the I group members have demanded the resignation of panchayat president A J Joseph, who is an A group member.

“There was an agreement that the A group will rule the civic body for the first two-and-a-half years while the I group will take over the next term. Now that the A group has completed their tenure, the president has to keep his word, “said Paulachan Maniyamkodu, a I group member.

He said the agreement was reached as per the directive of the Kerala Predesh Congress Committee.

 “The panchayat has a total of 18 seats. During the last election, United Democratic Front (UDF) won 10 seats and Left Democratic Front (LDF) won 8 seats. Among the total 10 seats, I group had five members and A group has 4 members.

As per the direction of KPCC, the panchayat  president must be selected by the group which has majority. However, there were no clear majority for any group as a I group member withdrew his support. Hence, we made a the mutual agreement. This is also applicable to the vice-president position. The post which was be held by I group during the first term will be given to A group,” he said.

Meanwhile, Paulachan said A J Joseph was not resigning despite request from District Congress Committee president V J Paulose.  “M G Sathyan is our candidate for the position of panchayat president. We also registered complaint with the DDC and KPCC offices in this regard,” he said.

Meanwhile, as part of the pressure tactics of I group, its vice-president resigned on Wednesday.

However, Kumbalam panchayat president A J Joseph said that he is yet to decide about the resignation.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp