Mixed Reactions Emerge as AAP Candidates List Fuels Discussion

The shortlisted candidates of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in the state are becoming hot topics of discussion in the virtual world.

Published: 28th February 2014 09:47 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th February 2014 11:27 AM   |  A+A-

The shortlisted candidates of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in the state are becoming hot topics of discussion in the virtual world.

Two links to the list have been shared by thousands of net users through the official Facebook page of the party. Over 500 people have commented on the list. The comments sweep across a wide range of tones, from showering praise to calling the whole process a sham. The party released the names of the shortlisted candidates for Thiruvananthapuram, Kottayam, Chalakkudy, Thrissur and Mavelikkara constituencies on Tuesday. Writer Sara Joseph has been shortlisted for Thrissur, retired district judge N Sadanandan for Mavelikkara and anti-endosulfan activist Kunjikrishnan for Kasargod. Ajit Joy, a Harvard law graduate has been chosen for the Thiruvananthapuram constituency. He was an IPS officer from 1992 to 2004 before moving to the United Nations where he worked as an officer on drugs and crime and as a project coordinator on anticorruption, anti humantrafficking and victim support. Human rights activist advocate Anil Aickara, who was in the forefront of the Mullaperiyar agitation, has been chosen to contest from the Kottayam seat. Other candidates from the constituency are Advocate Santhosh Kumar and Advocate Ubaideth. Palliative care volunteer K M Nooruddin and independent politician K A Hamza have been shortlisted for the Chalakkudy constituency. The party is expected to come up with names of its candidates in other constituencies soon.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kochi news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp