New Council's Youngest Member is 24 and Oldest 76

While Saneesha Ajeeb is the youngest, Kattissery Muhammed Hamsa Kunju is the seniormost member

Published: 10th November 2015 04:01 AM  |   Last Updated: 10th November 2015 04:01 AM   |  A+A-


KOCHI: The council of Kochi Corporation that would take  office next week is blessed with young blood. According to the data of winners, there are nine youngsters in the age group of 24-35 who got a ticket to the council. The sitting councillor of UDF Thampi Subramaniam is the only experienced person of the group, while the other eight are new faces.

Saneesha Ajeeb, who won from Chakkamadam division under the CPM banner, is the youngest of the lot at 24 years. Saneesha,  elected to the council with a majority of 214 votes, is an active member of DYFI.

27-year-old UDF leader A R Shameena is the second youngest, winning from the Earavely division with a majority of 457. Shameena, a teacher at a higher secondary institution, is also a Mahila Congress Earavely Mandalam president.

LDF leader Rajeev K Chandrasekharan, 30, was elected to the council defeating UDF’s M X Sebastian with a majority of ten votes. Rajeev is working with a cooperative bank in the district. He is also vice-president of DYFI Vyttila block.

Thirtyone-year-old Antony Francis of LDF, 32-year-old Deepak Joy elected from Ayyappankavu, 33-year-old Thampi Subramaniam, the sitting councillor of UDF, 35-year-old Jose Mary, Nisha Dinesh and Jimini are the other young leaders of the council. While Jose Mary has been elected from Manassery division under UDF banner the other two won  under LDF banner from Ponnurunny East and Pottakkuzhy respectively.

The new council is also blessed with 76-year-old Kattissery Muhammed Hamsa Kunju, who won under LDF banner from

Thrikkanarvattom, as the seniormost member of the council. Hamsa Kunju was the Deputy Speaker of Seventh Kerala Legislative Assembly. Earlier, he had also held the position of Mayor in 1973.

Several Fresh Faces This Time Too

Kochi: Fresh faces will grace the corporation this time too. Out of the 74 councillors who were elected to the Kochi Corporation in the local body election, 41 are newbies. This time, however, the number is less as compared to the last council which had 47 fresh faces including former deputy mayor B Bhadra, former works standing committee chairman and present mayor probable Soumini Jain along with many other prominent leaders of the last council.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp