Municipal Chairpersons Selected

Published: 18th November 2015 06:26 AM  |   Last Updated: 18th November 2015 06:26 AM   |  A+A-

KOCHI:  It looks like selecting civic body chiefs seems tougher than fielding candidates for Congress group managers. During the Congress Parliamentary Party meet to select Aluva municipality chairperson, disgruntled ‘I’ group members staged a walk-out as it was decided that two ‘A’ group members share the post, violating the KPCC direction. As per the formula, Lissy Abraham and Jeby Mather, daughter of KPCC general secretary K M I Mather, will share the chairperson post, Lissy for one year and Jeby for the remaining term. The vice-chairperson post will be given to C Omana, also an ‘A’ group representative.

Municipal Chairpersons.JPGThe ‘I’ group which has five members was not given its due following which its representatives K V Sarala and Liji Joy walked out of the meet. The Congress has retained power in the municipality by winning 14 of the total 26 seats.In Paravur municipality where the Congress has retained power, the meeting held under the supervision of V D Satheeshan MLA decided to field Ramesh D Kurup for the chairman post and Jessy Raju for vice-chairperson post. Ramesh’s name was suggested after rejecting the claim of former chairperson Valsala Prasannakumar, one of the KPCC general secretaries, who managed to win with four votes. A section of the Congress-I group has been demanding that the chairman post be given to a male councillor, since it is not reserved. The Congress has 15 members in the council while the LDF has 13 and the BJP, one.In Koothattukulam municipality, the party which is one short of majority needs the support of one independent to form the ruling council. The KPCC decision on rebels’ stand will be crucial for the municipality where it  hopes to pacify Roy Abraham, former panchayat vice-president who won from Edayar West as a rebel.

Rukhiya Jamal was elected chairperson in Kalamassery municipality at the CPP meet, but a new circular from the KPCC against sharing of power between husband and wife has become a road-block. The new-comer tag also works adversely for Rukhiya, wife of past chairman Jamal Manakkadan. The post is likely to go to Jessy Peter, a prominent ‘A’ group member.Whip will be issued to all the UDF councillors on Wednesday. For the LDF the selection of chiefs in five municipalities where it got a comfortable majority was a smooth affair.In Eloor municipality CPI’s Siji Babu will be the chairperson for one-and-a-half years and CPM will take over for the remaining period. The CPM has 11 seats and CPI six councillors. The LDF district committee backed the CPI claim at the eleventh hour.In Angamaly municipality, M A Gracy will be the first LDF chairperson in its 35-year history. The decision to elect her was almost unanimous.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp