Awarding the talented

Tarang Social Media Awards 2017  held in Angamaly honoured people who proved their talent on the digital platform

Published: 18th December 2017 09:53 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th December 2017 07:09 AM   |  A+A-

‘Troll Malayalam’ team who won the best troll meme creator award

Express News Service

KOCHI: Social media is not just a platform to know the latest happenings or to connect with people. It has given a stage for many talents to bring their calibre out of the four walls and present it before a large audience.To honour such talents, Tarang Entertainments, a community formed through social media presented the Tarang Social Media Awards 2017 in a grand event held in Angamaly. The awards were solely dedicated to people who proved their talent in the digital platform and were selected by an eminent jury.

Prasad Mccoy, Director of Tarang Entertainments said that this is one of its kind awards and, through this, they intend to provide an opportunity to the social media figures. “Awards were given for various categories including best actor/actress, singers, dancers, music video, most viral video and best mobile photography. Entries were called for all these categories and people from different parts of the world send their application via videos or photo,” he said.

Mccoy mentioned that Tarang is a community formed by a few friends who came together through the musical app Smule. He highlighted that currently, Tarang has about Three lakh members from around the globe. Tarang exclusively has a community for Smule named Smule Tarang that connects people through music. 

They had organised a get-together 
event Smule Tarang season 1 in July bringing together all those people, which were featured in Amercian Company Smule’s official blog.Mccoy noted that the social media awards too was like a get-together function as various talents popular through apps such as Facebook, Instagram, Whatsapp and Youtube came under one roof to receive their awards. The event also had musical shows by famous bands Orfeo and Hashtag , Actor and Singer Sabareesh Prabhakar, comedy performances by Tamil Comedian Chinni Jayanth and Malayalam actor Sinil Zainuddeen. 

The chief juries of the show included singer Sujatha, Music Director Sharath, Director Jeethu Joseph, Shafi, Sidharth Bharathan, Producer and Actor Vijay Babu, Artists Divya Unni, Surabhi and Sanju Sivaram. The finalists were selected by composer Sejo John, Singer Shreekumar Vaakkiyil and photographer Radhakrishnan Chakyath.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp