Mor Theemothios panel wins working committee polls

The managing committee, constituting 228 members, elected the working committee of the church.

Published: 24th December 2018 02:48 AM  |   Last Updated: 24th December 2018 05:47 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

KOCHI: The faction of Thomas Mor Theemothios, bishop of the Kottayam diocese of the Jacobite Syrian Church, won the majority seats in the secret polls for electing the working committee members at the Patriarchal Centre, Puthencruz, on Saturday. Both the panels of Mor Theemothios and Catholicos Baselious Thomas I contested the elections. The 15-member working committee constitutes five priests and 10 laymen.

The managing committee, constituting 228 members, elected the working committee of the church. Among the clergymen, Fr Daniel Thattarayil, Angamaly; Mikhayel Ramban, Muvattupuzha; and Fr Mathew Abraham, Thrissur of the Theemothios faction and Fr Varghese Panachiyil, Piravom and Jacob Mikhayel, Wayanad from the Catholicos faction were elected.

Laity members from the Theemothios faction include Benny Kurian, Alex M George, K O Elias, Elby Varghese, Roy Isaac and Suresh James. While, Anil K Kurian, P M Sabu, Eldhos M Baby and Jaine Mathew won from the Catholicos faction.

As per sources, the Catholicos faction believes it is the financial malpractices of the former office bearers that led to their loss in the elections. “The Catholicos is still encircled by crooked people, and it is very difficult for a man, who is pure in mind and heart, in his nineties to oppose and punish them,” they told Express.

Meanwhile, Fr Varghese Kallapara, convenor, Quest for secular International Samithi, said the results of the elections reveal the foul play against the Catholicos.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kochi news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp