Trinamool takes over Murshidabad municipality

Published: 28th September 2016 09:20 PM  |   Last Updated: 28th September 2016 09:20 PM   |  A+A-

KOLKATA: Tearing into traditional Congress bastion Murshidabad, Trinamool Congress tasted sucess yet again by capturing Murshidabad town municipality, with 12 Congress councillors including chairman Biplab Chakraborty and vice chairman Shahida Bibi joining the Trinamool on Wednesday.

The councillors formally joined the TMC at Trinamool Bhavan here on Wednesday. Out of the 16 seat municipality, Trinamool is now in control single handedly.

The ruling party has one by one taken over all but one municipalities in the Congress stronghold district.

Kandi, the only non Trinamool municipality in the district may also soon move towards the ruling party.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp