TRIMA-2012 on May 4, 5 at Mascot Hotel

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The Trivandrum Management Association (TMA) is organising its annual convention, TRIMA-2012, on May 4 and 5 at Hotel Mascot here. The topic of discussion for this year’s&nb

Published: 28th April 2012 07:56 AM  |   Last Updated: 16th May 2012 07:47 PM   |  A+A-

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The Trivandrum Management Association (TMA) is organising its annual convention, TRIMA-2012, on May 4 and 5 at Hotel Mascot here. The topic of discussion for this year’s  convention is ‘Building socially responsible organisations.’

 The convention will be inaugurated by Chief Minister Oommen Chandy on coming Friday at 4 pm. KIMS CMD Dr M I Sahadulla will welcome the gathering. TMA president Babu Thomas president will preside over the function. The theme presentation will be done by M Ayyappan, CMD, HLL Life Care Ltd, and the keynote address will be delivered by Dr A K Balyan, CEO, Petronet LNG. P Nanda Kumaran, MD, SBT, will give the special address and TMA secretary Sreekanth P Krishnan will propose the vote of thanks.

 There will  be three technical sessions on the second day of the convention. In the first session on ‘CSR philosophy’, Dr Pritam Singh, Director General, International Management Institution, will deliver the keynote address. The session will be moderated by former Ambassador T P Srinivasan. ‘Challenges in CSR and creating social value through CSR’ will be the main topic of discussion.

 T Suresh Singaravelu, MD and CEO, Chalet Hotels and Lekshmi M Kumaran DGM (ICC and CSR), Mangalore Refinery and Petrochemicals Ltd, will address the session.

 The second session will deliberate on ‘CSR -Building blocks.’ The keynote speaker will be  Debashis Chatterjee, Director, IIM Kozhikode.   T Balakrishnan, Managing Director, INKEL, will moderate the session. The subjects listed for discussions are, ‘CSR - Developing an  academic framework’ and ‘CSR - Implementation, experience.’ Dr R Jayakrishnan, Vice-Chancellor, Kerala University, and T S Unnikrishnan, GMR Varalakshmi Foundation, will speak.

 The topic for the third session is ‘CSR- Institutional framework.’ Venugopal C Govind, managing partner, Varma and Varma, will be the keynote speaker. G Vijayaraghavan, Member, Kerala State Planning Board, will moderate the session. ‘How to conceive, implement and manage CSR in organisations’ and ‘Measuring impacts of CSR’ will be dealt with during the session, in which Dr Achyuta Samantha, founder chairman, Kalinga Deemed University and Dr Vasanthi Krishnan, CEO, Hindustan Latex Family Planning Promotion Trust, will also speak.

 V S Sivakumar, Minister for Health, will deliver the valedictory address and also present the CSR Award. The gathering will be welcomed by E M Najeeb, CMD, ATE group of companies. Chief Secretary K Jayakumar and Dr V A Joseph, MD and CEO, South Indian Bank, will deliver the special address. Management consultant R Suresh Mohan will sum up the event and  A S Suresh Babu, MD, Vizhinjam International Seaport Limited, will propose the vote of thanks.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp