Science Congress: 16 projects selected

Published: 06th December 2012 11:35 AM  |   Last Updated: 06th December 2012 11:35 AM   |  A+A-

The two-day state-level Children’s Science Congress came to a close on Tuesday with 16 projects, including two from Thiruvananthapuram schools, being selected for the  20th edition of National Children’s Science Congress to be held at Varanasi duringDecember 27-31.

Sixty-seven projects by students from schools across the state were presented at the Congress with the budding scientists taking on the theme of ‘Energy: Explore, Harness and Conserve, and came up with innovative solutions for addressing the looming energy shortage. They showcased new ways for harnessing energy such as used oil, bio-waste and latex besides presenting lesser-known success stories and case studies of energy utilisation in various parts of Kerala.

Speaker G Karthikeyan, , who inaugurated the valedictory function, gave away awards to 16 best student projects selected for the national event. From 225 projects at the district level, 67 were identified to participate at the state level.

The event was held in two groups -junior (10-14years) and senior (14-17years). The winner schools at the senior level are, Carmel Girls High School, Thiruvananthapuram; P K High School, Mannapra, Palakkad; Salvation Army HSS, Thiruvananthapuram; GVHSS Omanoor, Malappuram; GVHSS Chelari, Malappuram; Govt HSS Konni, Pathanamthitta; GHSS Cheemeni, Kasargod; Chattanchal HSS, Kasargod; SVMM VHS, Vendar and GHSS Meenangadi, Wayanad.

In the junior group, SMV HSS Poonjar Kottayam; STHS Thudanganadu Idukki; Tharuvanatheru UP School, Kannur; TVT MHS Veliyam, Kollam; KPCHS Pattannur, Kannur and CBHS Vallikkunnu, Malappuram were declared as the winning schools.

The event was organised by Kerala State Council for Science Technology and Environment (KSCSTE) with the support of the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India.

Also present at the valedictory function were VN Rajasekharan Pillai, Executive Vice President, KSCSTE & Principal Secretary, Science & Technology Department and CP Aravindakshan, Chairman, State Organising Committee of the Science Congress.

Stay up to date on all the latest Thiruvananthapuram news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp