State TV awards announced

Published: 15th September 2012 12:04 PM  |   Last Updated: 15th September 2012 12:04 PM   |  A+A-

The State Television Awards for 2011, were announced here on Friday by Minister K B Ganesh Kumar.   The awards were given in three categories - fiction, non-fiction and writing. In the fiction category ‘Daivathinte Swantam Devooty’ (Mazhavil Manorama) directed by K Madhupal bagged the best tele-serial award. ‘John D Panic’ (Mazhavil Manorama) directed by Sanal Kalathil was adjudged second best tele-serial.

While ‘Manjana’ directed by Sivaprasad K V won the award for best tele-film with less than 20 minutes  duration, ‘Thattumpurathappan’ directed by Sudevan bagged the award for best tele-film with duration more than 20 minutes. The award for best story-writer went to E Harikumar for ‘Sreeparvathiyude Padam’ (Doordarshan). 

‘Patturumal’ (Kairali TV) won the award for best entertainment show and ‘Marimayam’ (Mazhavil Manorama) was chosen as the best comedy programme. Manikandan Pattambi bagged the award for best comedian for ‘Marimayam’. Best short-film for children went to ‘Kathu’ directed by Madhu K S.

Awards for the best dubbing artiste in the male and female category were bagged by Shobby Thilakan for ‘Bhadra’ (Surya TV) and Vimmy Mariam George for ‘Daivathinte Swantam Devooty.’   Jean Paul Lal, who directed ‘Debt,’ (Mazhavil Manorama) bagged the best director award. Babu Anoor was adjudged the best actor for his performance in ‘Daivathinte Swantam Devooty’ and Sreelakshmi bagged the award for best actress for ‘Ardhachandrante Ratri’ (Amrita TV).

Achuthanandan, for his performance in ‘Thattumpurathappan’ was selected as the second best actor and Shobha Mohan won the second best actress award for ‘Choodu.’

Appu K G bagged the award for best child artiste for his performance in ‘Manjana.’ Alby and Ratheesh Raj bagged the awards for best cameraman and best editor for ‘Debt.’   Ramesh Narayan, who scored the music for ‘Choodu,’ was best music director. T Krishnanunni (Music of the Drum) won the award for best sound recordist and Justin was the best art director for ‘Kodikal Marukayanu’ (People TV). Special jury award was given to the programme ‘Flavours of India’ (Kairali TV) and Praveen Iravunkara for ‘Veendum Oral’. The awards in the fiction category were selected by a jury headed by filmmaker R Sarath. Actor Sithara, Madhu Adoor, Mohandas Chengannuur and K Manoj Kumar were the members.


In the non-fiction category award for the best documentary (general category) was bagged by ‘Maunathinte Nilavili’ directed by Santhosh P D. ‘Lost Woods’ (People TV) by C Rahim won the award for the best documentary in science and environment category. Best documentary awards in biography and women and children categories were bagged by ‘Kaviyoor Revamma’ by Lenin Rajendran and ‘Purdayidatha Viswasam’ by Shamnad Pudussery. ‘Nanjinattinte Uppuperuma’ (Doordarshan) by K S Rajasekharan bagged the award for best educational programme and Surya S Nair won the award for the best anchor for an educational programme ‘The Neutral Accent’.

 M G Aneesh, who directed ‘Maranantharam (Asianet News) won the award for best documentary director and best out of vision commentator while Bipin Raj Thomas bagged the award for best news cameraman for the same.  Prajula B of Asianet News was selected as best news reader and Jayamohan Nair S bagged award for best anchor for ‘Thiruva Ethirva’ (Manorama News). Shani T P won the award for best anchor, current affairs, for ‘Ground Reality Show’ (Manorama News).  Shibu Joseph bagged the award for best investigative journalist for ‘Adivasi Vandhyamkaranam - Anweshanam’ (Manorama News). ‘Natakame Ulakam’ (Amrita TV) won the award for best TV show in current affairs category. ‘Kingini’ by Reji Sen won the award for best children’s programme. ‘Kazchapathippu’ by M S Banesh got special jury award. Two programmes, ‘Nampoothiri - Varayude Kulapathi’ by Binuraj Kalapeetom and Harithavidyalayam by Manoj Krishnan, received special jury mention.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp