Kerala Varsity VC Selection Process Turns Murkier

Former MLA George Mercier has written to Sudheeran demanding the removal of Syndicate member B S Jyothi Kumar from the post of KPCC secretary

Published: 22nd February 2014 09:27 AM  |   Last Updated: 22nd February 2014 09:27 AM   |  A+A-

In a new twist to the Kerala University Vice-Chancellor selection process, a Congress former MLA has complained to KPCC president V M Sudheeran against another Congress leader and Syndicate member who petitioned the Governor against the selection process. This, despite a consensus within the UDF to select the next Vice-Chancellor from a particular community.

Former MLA George Mercier has written to Sudheeran demanding the removal of Syndicate member B S Jyothi Kumar from the post of KPCC secretary.

Jyothi Kumar had on Tuesday petitioned Governor Nikhil Kumar, who is the Chancellor of the University, against the alleged haste in selecting a person for the top post.

A search committee - comprising Chief Secretary E K Bharat Bhushan (representing the government), Delhi University Vice-Chancellor Dinesh Singh (UGC representative) and N Narayanan Nair (Kerala University Senate representative) - had on Monday shortlisted three names for the post.

According to sources, the UDF leadership had reached a consensus on selecting a person from the Ezhava community to the top post for maintaining caste equations.

P K Radhakrishnan, professor, School of Chemical Sciences, Mahatma Gandhi University, was reportedly the government’s choice. The other nominees were V Prasannakumar, professor of Geology at Kerala University and S V Sudheer, director of the Academic Staff College, Kerala University.

Mercier, in his letter, contented that Jyothi Kumar as a KPCC secretary should have sought the permission of the party chief before submitting a petition “against the wishes of the party” to the Governor. The ex-MLA demanded the removal of Jyothi Kumar from the post of KPCC secretary.

According to sources, Mercier’s complaint is a fallout of the war between the ‘A’ and ‘I’ factions in the Congress.

The former MLA, who is an ‘A’ group leader, is seeking election to the University Senate from the trade union constituency which is being reportedly opposed by Jyothi Kumar of the ‘I’ faction.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp