Vayalar Samskarika Vedi Awards

Published: 12th May 2014 09:27 AM  |   Last Updated: 12th May 2014 09:27 AM   |  A+A-

‘Nadan’ directed by Kamal has bagged the Vayalar Ramavarma Samskarika Vedi’s award for the best film while Shyamaprasad was chosen as the best director for his film ‘Artist’.

Jayaram was adjudged the best actor for his roles in the films ‘Nadan’ and ‘Swapaanam’ while Meena bagged the best actress award for her performance in the movie ‘Drishyam’.

Jithu Joseph is the best scriptwriter (Drishyam) and Ouseppachan is the best music director (Nadan). Sohanlal has been chosen as the best lyricist for the song ‘Marakkanullath’ (Kathaveed) while Mridula Warrier and Sreeram were named t best playback singers.

The film ‘Philips and the Monkey Pen’ won Rojin Joseph and Shanil Mohammed the award for best debut directors. Maniyan Pillai Raju is the second best actor (Idukki Gold) and Keerthi Suresh is the best female debutant (Geethanjali, Ring Master). Sujith Vasudevan bagged the award for the best cinematographer. Kovalam Satheesh of ‘Kerala Kaumudi’ daily was given the award for the best film critic. 

The ‘Kalarathna’ awards were given to singer K G Markose, dancer Rajashree Warrier, film producer P V Gangadharan and cultural activist Satheesh Babu Payyannur.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp