Thekkekara Chundan Wins Aiyyankali Jalolsavam

Published: 31st August 2015 04:04 AM  |   Last Updated: 31st August 2015 04:04 AM   |  A+A-


THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The 42nd Mahatma Ayyankali Jalolsavam was conducted at the Vellayani Kayal in the city recently.  The event which was flagged off by actor Suresh Gopi started with a Jalaghoshayatra.

Thekkekara Chundan led by Kakkamoola Chandran secured the first position and won the Mahatma Ayyankali Everrolling Ministers’ Trophy in the vallamkali competition. Brothers Chundan led by V J Jijo bagged the second place. The first and second place winners received cash awards of `40,000 and `28,000 respectively. Boat races were conducted in three categories. In women’s section: Chundan vallam and Traditional boat races were held. The traditional boat race category was further divided into three categories namely ‘onnam taram’, ‘randam taram’ and ‘moonam taram’. The Vadakkekara Vellakuthira led by S Chandrababu came first in the ‘Chundan Vallam’ category, while Kizhakkekara Chundan led by S Ajayakumar came second. In the traditional boat ‘Randam Taram’ category, Vadakkekara Ayyankali Chundan led by S A Abhijith and Immanuel Vadakkekara led by M Manoj secured the first and second place respectively. Kakkamoola Chundan led by S Ignatius bagged first place in the traditional boat race ‘Moonam Taram’ category and Ookkode Chundan led by Manju T emerged victorious in the women’s section.

Tourism Minister M P Anil Kumar, in his inaugural speech at the public convention held as part of the Jalolsavam, said that the Government grant for the Jalolsavam would be increased by `5 lakh. It is the present government which has raised the grant from `1 lakh to `4 lakh, he said and added that the state government will give all possible support for the conduct of the Jalolsavam which is being held in memory of Mahatma Ayyankali.

Actor Suresh Gopi said that he would be contributing `1 lakh in his father’s name to the Jalolsavam organising committee every year. He also shared his love for vallamkali on the occasion.

MLA V Sivankutty, former minister M Vijayakumar,  district panchayat vice-president Rufus Daniel and Jalolsavam committee trust president R Mosha attended the event presided over by MLA Jameela Prakasham.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp