Aruvikkara sees highest voter turnout in Capital district

More than 70% of 28,19,710 voters exercise franchise; T’Puram records lowest polling percentage among 14 assembly seats in dist

Published: 07th April 2021 06:52 AM  |   Last Updated: 07th April 2021 06:52 AM   |  A+A-

Elections, voting, Assam/Bengal

For representational purposes

By Express News Service

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Around 70.01 per cent of the 28,19,710 voters exercised their franchise in the capital district for the elections to the state legislative assembly on Tuesday. Aruvikkara constituency recorded the highest voter turnout of 73.27 per cent out of the 14 constituencies in the district, while Thiruvananthapuram recorded the lowest of 61.92 per cent.

As many as 10,19,565 female, 9,49,207 male, and 24 transgender voters cast their votes on the day. The final hour of polling, which was scheduled from 7am to 7pm, was reserved for Covid patients. Of the 4,164 booths in the district, webcasting facilities were arranged in 2,073. 

Four hours into the polling process, around 30.02 per cent voters — 13,40,691 — had already cast their votes. Vattiyoorkavu constituency saw the highest turnout in the first hour of polling. By 12pm, Kazhakoottam and Nemom were seen to be leading in poll percentage — 39.64 per cent and 38.85 per cent respectively. 

By afternoon, seven constituencies in the district had registered a voter turnout of more than 45 per cent. Kazhakoottam led the list with 46.37 per cent of its voters casting their votes, followed by Aruvikkara (45.69), Vamanapuram (45.63), Nedumangad (45.53), Attingal (45.47), Nemom (45.35) and Kattakada (45.34). Earlier, Aruvikkara took the lead, recording a turnout of 63.59 per cent. This was followed by Nedumangad (62.66), Vamanapuram (62.56), Kattakada (62.54), Parassala (62.40) and Kazhakoottam (62.27).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp