The 17th Lok Sabha elections will be conducted in seven phases from April 11 to May 19. The poll results will be announced on May 23.
According to the Election Commission, around 90 crore persons are eligible to exercise their franchise in 543 Lok Sabha constituencies. There is an increase of about 9 crore voters compared to the last elections. The first-time voters are estimated at 13 crore.
In case you don't have a voter ID, you can still cast your vote by using any of the below-mentioned government-issued photo identity documents.

a) Passport

b) Driving licence

c) MNREGA job card

d) PAN card

e) Aadhaar card

f) Pension document with photograph

g) Passbook with photograph issued by a bank or Post Office

h) Central/state government-run company service ID cards with photograph

i) Health insurance smart card issued under a Ministry of labour scheme

j) Smart card issued by the Registrat General of India (RGI) under National Population Register

k) Official ID Cards issued to lawmakers or legislators

l) Authenticated photo voter slip issued by election machinery

In the absence of the aforementioned, you can register both offline and online for a voter ID. For offline registration, you have to personally visit the state election office and fill out the FORM 6. After providing all the relevant details and requisite documents, the form can be submitted to get a voter ID. The online registration can be done at

Visit to see if you are registered to vote. If your name appears in the list, you are eligible to vote, otherwise you need to register to vote. Visit for voter registration. Also, you can use Voter Helpline App to verify your name in the electoral rolls or register online.
Those who are serving in the military, the government or on election duty outside their native states can vote using postal ballot. Also, any person taken into preventive custody can vote using postal ballot.
All digital content posted by political parties and their candidates will fall under the purview of the Model Code of Conduct. EC has inserted this new rule into Model Code of Conduct keeping in view the impact of social media on elections.
An EVM (Electronic Voting Machine) is an electronic device for recording votes. It consists of two units - a control unit and a balloting unit.

The Election Commission since 2010 has been phasing in a third unit called the VVPAT or the Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail. It allows voters to verify that their votes have been recorded correctly by printing a paper receipt.

This system will be used with all voting machines in the upcoming assembly and general elections.

The EVMs were first used in 1982 in the bypoll to North Paravur Assembly Constituency in Kerala in a limited number of polling booths. The EVMs were used first time in the general election (entire state) to the Assembly of Goa in 1999. In 2003, all by-elections and state elections were held using EVMs. Encouraged by this EC decided to use only EVMs for Lok Sabha elections in 2004 and for all elections thereafter.

NOTA was introduced to the EVM in 2013. Since then it has been used in one Lok Sabha election and 37 Assembly elections.

In all elections between 2013 and 2017, NOTA secured a total of 1.33 crore votes. This means on an average, NOTA got 2.7 lakh votes in 37 Assembly polls that took place till 2017.

Contrary to the common perception, NOTA votes have not affected the outcome of any Parliamentary and Assembly election.

Yes. The upcoming elections will beat the record for the longest elections in India. While the last general elections were spread over 35 days, voting in the upcoming polls which will be conducted in seven phases between April 11 and May 19 will last for 38 days.
Malkajgiri in Telangana has the most number of voters while Lakshadweep has the least.
The restive constituency of Anantnag will go to polls in three phases. Polling in this constituency will be held in three phases (April 23, April 29 and May 6). The constituency which has been the centre of pro-separatist movements covers four volatile districts of south Kashmir – Anantnag, Shopian, Kulgam and Pulwama since 2016 following the killing of Hizbul Mujahideen’s Burhan Wani.
The total number of reserved constituencies is 131. While 84 constituencies have been reserved for Scheduled Castes, 47 constituencies have been set aside for Scheduled Tribes.