TRS to Go It Alone in Polls, Releases First List of Candidates

Published: 04th April 2014 03:18 PM  |   Last Updated: 04th April 2014 03:21 PM   |  A+A-


Announcing that it would not strike an alliance in the upcoming state and Lok Sabha elections, the TRS today released its first list of candidates for 69 of the 119 assembly seats in Telangana region alongwith its poll manifesto.

"Right from day one, we have been saying that we will not have alliances with anyone in this elections. The wish of Telangana people is that we contest alone. Accordingly, we are going alone," TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao told reporters here.

Rao would contest from Gajwel assembly constituency in his native Medak district, while son and sitting MLA K T Rama Rao would fight again from Sircilla assembly seat in Karimnagar district of Andhra Pradesh.

All the sitting MLAs of TRS have been retained from the constituencies which are being presently held by them.

The candidates for the remaining assembly seats and the Lok Sabha constituencies would be announced soon, he said.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp