KCR, Vijayashanti, Dattatreya, Vidyasagar Rao Join Poll Race

Published: 09th April 2014 05:50 PM  |   Last Updated: 09th April 2014 05:50 PM   |  A+A-


TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao, Congress leader Vijayashanti, former Union Ministers Bandaru  Dattatreya and Ch Vidyasagar Rao are among the candidates who  filed their nominations today for elections in Telangana  region.   

Chandrasekhar Rao, who is contesting both for Lok Sabha  and legislative assembly, filed his nomination papers for  Medak parliamentary and Gajwel assembly seats.             

It could be a smooth sailing for him in Medak as his rivals of Congress and BJP are political greenhorns.             

Congress is seen to have given him a walkover by not fielding a heavyweight in Shravan Kumar Reddy in Medak Lok  Sabha segment.    

Sitting Medak MP and popular actress of yesteryear Vijayashanti, who joined Congress after being expelled by TRS, is the grand old party's nominee for Medak assembly seat.        

BJP national vice president and former Union Minister Dattatreya is fighting again from Secunderabad which he held twice.          

Vidyasagar Rao, who had served as Union Minister of State for Home in NDA government, is BJP candidate from Karimnagar.      

 The last day for filing of nominations witnessed a heavy rush of candidates to submit their papers.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp