BJP Shifts Purandeswari from Visakhapatnam to Rajampeta

Published: 16th April 2014 09:41 PM  |   Last Updated: 16th April 2014 09:41 PM   |  A+A-


Former Union Minister D Purandeswari, who quit Congress over the Telangana issue and and joined BJP, was today shifted by the BJP from her Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha seat to Rajmpeta.  

Purandeswari, daughter of former Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N T Rama Rao, is the sitting MP from Visakhapatnam and had apparently joined the party with an understanding that she will be given the ticket from the constituency.           

The BJP Central Election Committee has decided to field its Andhra Pradesh unit chief K Hari Babu from Visakhapatnam and announced that Purandeswari will contest from Rajampeta Lok Sabha seat.      

Sources said the party's alliance with Telugu Desham Party (TDP) in both Telangana and residual Andhra Pradesh states forced the party to shift her as top TDP leadership had opposed her candidature. TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu, who is NTR's son-in-law and married to Purandeswari's sister, and Purandeswari have been bitter political rivals. "It is between the two sisters," said a BJP leader, when asked about her shifting. There was speculation earlier that she may be denied a ticket, but the party late tonight decided to field her from Rajampeta seat.           

Purandeswari had quit the Congress on March 7 saying she was left with no option after the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh.            

"The party (Congress) took the decision to bifurcate the state and all abided by it because it was the decision taken by the party. But unfortunately, the manner in which the bifurcation has taken place has hurt me," she had said. Sharing dais with BJP leader Venkaiah Naidu, she had claimed that circumstances had forced her to take the decision to quit Congress.          

Purandeswari, who was the Minister of State for Commerce and Industry, resigned from Congress after the Telangana bill was introduced in the Lok Sabha in February.         

The BJP also decided to field Gokaraju Ganga Raju from Narsapur Lok Sabha seat and Karumanchi Jayaram from Tirupati (SC) seat.        

As part of its poll alliance with TDP, BJP will field its candidates in five parliamentary seats, of which three are general, one is a scheduled tribe (ST) and another reserved for scheduled castes (SC), in the residual state of a bifurcated Andhra Pradesh.        

BJP also announced 13 candidates for Andhra Pradesh Assembly elections for Seemandhra region.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp