Fifth Phase: Bengal, Bihar go for LS Polls Tomorrow

Published: 29th April 2014 10:19 AM  |   Last Updated: 29th April 2014 10:19 AM   |  A+A-


Eighty-seven contestants will fight it out in nine constituencies that are going to poll tomorrow in the third of the five-phase Lok Sabha election in West Bengal.              

The seats are Howrah, Hooghly, Serampore, Bolpur, Arambagh, Burdwan East, Burdwan-Durgapur, Birbhum and Uluberia.   

Among the candidates are BJP's Bappi Lahiri, journalist-turned politician Chandan Mitra and actor George Baker, who carry the hopes of the party leadership to score big for the first time in the state.    

While most poll analysts rule out BJP's outright win in any of the nine seats, they all agree on an increase in voteshare.      

Among Trinamool Congress candidates are sitting MPs Satabdi Roy, Kalyan Banerjee and Sultan Ahmed besides Prasun Banerjee, a former India soccer player.   

It is a battle for the CPI-M to hold on to the four seats among the nine which it had won the last time.    

Congress candidate Abdul Mannan is also in fray.            

There are also 13 women contestants in the election.        

An electorate of 13943063 would be eligible to exercise their franchise.

Fourth phase Bihar Lok Sabha election tomorrow            

Seven constituencies are going to poll tomorrow in the fourth of the six-phase Lok Sabha election in Bihar to decide the fate of 94 candidates amidst strong security arrangement.   

The seats are Madhubani, Jhanjharpur, Madhepura, Darbhanga, Samastipur (SC, Reserved), Begusarai and Khagaria - all in the Kosi river belt.           

Prominent among the candidates are JD(U) president Sharad Yadav from Madhepura, being challenged by RJD's Rajesh Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav, former Union minister and BJP leader Hukumdeo Narayan Yadav from Madhubani, cricketer-turned BJP leader Kirti Azad from Darbhanga and his challenger former union minister and RJD leader M A A Fatmi.    

Five women are also in the fray.              

An electorate of 1.12 crore electors would exercise their franchise in 10,521 polling stations.            

Polling would end at 4:00 PM in the three assembly segments of Mahisi in Madhepura and Simri Bhakhtiyarpur and Aluali in the Khagaria seat.    

Repoll would also be held in Sahebpur Kamal Assembly seat in Begusarai district.           

The repoll was necessitated by former minister Parveen Amanullah's resignation from the Nitish Kumar cabinet to move to AAP.  


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp