Polling Begins in 7 LS Seats in Bihar in Fourth Phase

Published: 30th April 2014 08:06 AM  |   Last Updated: 30th April 2014 08:06 AM   |  A+A-


Polling began in seven parliamentary constituencies in the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Bihar amidst tight security today to decide the fate of 94 candidates.       

The prominent candidates in the fray are JD(U) President Sharad Yadav from Madhepura, who is being challenged by RJD's Rajesh Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav, former central minister and BJP leader Hukumdeo Narayan Yadav from Madhubani and cricketer-turned-BJP leader Kirti Azad from Darbhanga who will contest against former Union minister and RJD leader M A A Fatmi.       

Elections are also being held in Jhanjharpur, Samastipur (SC), Begusarai and Khagaria seats today and all the constituencies are in the Kosi river belt.           Five women are also in the fray.          

An electorate of 1.12 crore voters will exercise their franchise in 10,521 polling stations.       

Altogether 59,000 personnel belonging to 145 companies of central paramilitary forces BSF, CRPF and state police, including Bihar Military Police and homeguards and two helicopters have been deployed to ensure free and fair polls, official sources said.     

The helicopters would be used for aerial surveillance, the sources said.  

Polling would end at 4 pm in the three assembly segments of Mahisi in Madhepura and Simri Bhakhtiyarpur and Aluali in Khagaria seat as the areas are Maoist-affected.       

Bypoll is also being held in Sahebpur Kamal Assembly seat in Begusarai district. It is necessitated following former minister Parveen Amanullah's resignation from the Nitish Kumar cabinet to move to AAP.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp