Yeddyurappa takes oath as Karnataka CM after SC bench refuses to stay swearing-in ceremony

In a ceremony held at Raj Bhavan, Yeddyurappa swore an oath in the name of god and farmers. The swearing in was held at the glass house of the Raj Bhavan among cheering crowds. 

Published: 17th May 2018 09:16 AM  |   Last Updated: 17th May 2018 10:10 AM   |  A+A-

B S Yeddyurappa at Raj Bhavan. (EPS | Nagaraja Gadekal)

By Express News Service

BENGALURU: The leader of Bharatiya Janata Party's legislative party B S Yeddyurappa on Thursday took oath as the new Chief Minister of Karnataka. As BJP workers chanted Modi-Modi, Yeddyurappa took oath in the name of God and farmers. Putting his image of farmer leader on full display, Yeddyurappa walked into the Raj Bhavan with a green shawl- a symbolism for farmer movement.

Despite being short of 8 MLAs to cross the halfway mark, the BJP with 104 seats has decided to form the government. Governor Vajubhai Vala has given Yeddyurappa 15 days time to prove his majority through a vote of confidence on the floor of Karnataka assembly. The deadline could be cut short if the Chief Justice of India who is examining a petition by the Congress opposing the Governor's invitation, decides to set a new deadline. 

B S Yeddyurappa took oath in Kannada but ministers are yet to be decided upon by the party. Union Minister Prakash Javdekar overlooked the arrangements at Raj Bhavan before the swearing-in ceremony. A united JD(S)- Congress currently has the support of 117 MLAs but the BJP needs 8 more MLAs to keep B S Yeddyurappa's government intact. 

Seniors leaders of the BJP like B Sriramulu, R Ashok, K S Eshwarappa, Govind Karjol, Suresh Kumar, Ashwathnarayana, Jagadish Shettar are expected to be accommodated into cabinet posts. 

Congress legislators, who were holed up at Eagleton resort in Bengaluru, have left to Vidhan Soudha where they will sit on Dharna in front of the Mahatma Gandhi statue. Congress workers have also taken to the streets in Kolar, Bangarpet, Malur raising slogans against BJP immediately after Yeddyurappa's swearing-in.

JD(S) MLAs are also expected to sit on Dharna at the Vidhan Soudha. 

Responding to the Congress protest call, Union minister H N Ananthkumar said, "Congress has been defeated, I don't know why they are protesting. They must protest against Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi"

Earlier, the Supreme Court declined to stay the swearing-in ceremony on the petition filed by Congress and JD(S) challenging Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala's decision to invite the BJP to form the government in the southern state.

In the midnight hearing, a three-judge bench of Justices AK Sikri, S A Bobde and Ashok Bhushan said, “Case will be heard later and formation of government will depend on court's final decision.”

The court will examine the support claimed by Yeddyurappa in his letter to Governor showing his status to form the government. The court will take up the case at 10:30 am on Friday.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp