National Film Awards FULL LIST: Sridevi is best actress, Vinod Khanna gets Dadasaheb Phalke

The National Awards film jury announced today that Sridevi the best actress for her role in 'Mom'.

Published: 13th April 2018 01:22 PM  |   Last Updated: 13th April 2018 07:42 PM   |  A+A-

Actor Sridevi (Photo | Screengrab from Youtube)

By Express News Service

NEW DELHI: Late actress Sridevi has been named for the best actress award in the 65th National Film Awards which were announced on Friday. Late Vinod Khanna has been honoured with the prestigious Dada Saheb Phalke Award.

Officials said that the jury, headed by filmmaker Shekhar Kapur, handed over its recommendations to Information and Broadcasting minister Smriti Irani, on Thursday. The jury panel comprises 10 members including Parinda screenwriter Imtiaz Hussain, lyricist Mehboob, South Indian actress Gautami Tadimalla and Kannada director P Sheshadri. Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Ranjit Das, Rajesh Mapuskar, Tripurari Sharma and Rumi Jaffrey are also included in the panel.

VIEW PHOTO GALLERY | 65th National Film Awards: Sridevi wins Best Actress award, Jayaraj wins Best Director award, Assamese film Village Rockstars is Best Film

Officials said that the awards will be given to the respective winners on May 3.

Amit V Masurkar's Newton was chosen for the Best Hindi Film while SS Rajamouli's Baahubali has won in two categories- Best Action Direction and Special Effects.  Ganesh Acharya has won the award for Best Choreography for the song Goli Tu Lath maar in Toilet Ek Prem Katha.

Last year, the jury was headed by filmmaker Priyadarshan last year and Akshay Kumar had bagged the Best Actor award for his performance in Rustom while Malayalam actor Surabhi Lakshmi won the Best Actress award for Minnaminungu.


Dada Saheb Phalke Award: Vinod Khanna

Best Director: Jayaraj for Bhayanakam (Malayalam)

Best Feature Film: Village Rockstars (Assamese)

Best Film Critic: Giridhar Jha

Special Mention for Film Criticism: Sunil Mishra of Madhya Pradesh


Special Mention Awards:

Marathi - Murkhya, Yash Raj Kharade

Odiya - Hello Aarsee

Malayalam - Take Off

Pankaj Tripathi in Newton

Parvathy in Take Off


Regional films

Ladakhi - Walking With The Wind

Lakshadweep - Sinjar

Tulu - Paddayi

Marathi - Kachcha Limbo

Malayalam - Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

Tamil - To Let

Kannada - Hebettu Ramakka

Hindi - Newton

Bengali - Mayurakshi

Assamese - Ishu

Telugu - Ghazi

Gujarati - Dhh

Jasari - Sinjar  


Best Child Artist: Anita Das, Village Rockstar

Best Actress FEMALE: Sridevi for Mom

Best Actor MALE: Riddhi Sen for Nagar Kirtan

Best Supporting Actress: Divya Dutta, Irada

Best Supporting Actor - Fahad Faazil, Thondimuthalam Driksakshiyum

Best Action Direction: Baahubali: The Conclusion

Best Choreography: Ganesh Acharya for Gori Tu Lath Mar song from Toilet Ek Prem Katha

Gori Tu Lath Mar song from Toilet Ek Prem Katha

Best Special Effects: Baahubali: The Conclusion

Special Jury Award: Nagar Kirtan (Bengali)

Best Cinematography: Bhayanakam (Malayalam)


Best Make-up Artist: Ram Rajak, Nagar Kirtan (Bengali)

Best Costume: Gobinda Mandal, Nagar Kirtan (Bengali)


Best Production Design: Santosh Rajan, Take Off (Malayalam)

Best Editing: Rima Das, Village Rockstar (Assamese)


Best Screenplay Original: Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum (Malayalam)

Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

Best Screenplay Adapted: Bhayanakam (Malayalam)


Best Music Direction: A R Rahman, Kaatru Veliyidai (Tamil)

'Kaatru Veliyidai'

Best Background Score: A R Rahman, MOM (Hindi)

Best Female Playback Singer: Sasha Thirupati, 'Vaan Varuvaan' (Kaatru Veliyidayi - Tamil film)

Best Male Playback Singer: Yesudas, 'Poemaranyakalam' (Malayalam film - Viswasapoorvam Mansoor)

Best Lyrics: Muthu Ratna, March 22 (Kannada)

Best Sound Design: Walking With The Wind (Ladakhi)

Best Audiography (Location Sound): Mallika Das, Village Rockstar (Assamese)

Best Location Sound Recordist: Mallika Das, Village Rockstar (Assamese)


Best Children's Film: Morkhya

Best Film on Environmental Conservation: Irada

Nargis Dutt Award for Best Film on National Integration: Dhappa (Marathi)

Best Debut Film of a Director: Pampally, Sinjar (Basari)

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Baahubali 2

Best Non-Feature Film: Water Baby

Best Educational Film: The Girls We Were and The Women We Are

Best Animation Film: The Fish Curry and Tokri: The Basket

Best Film on Art and Culture: Girija: A life of music

Best Film on Social Issues (Feature Film): Aalorukkam (Malayalam)

Best Film on Social Issues (Non-Feature Film): 'I am Bonnie' and 'Whale Done share the award

Best Non-Feature Films Director: Nagraj Manjule

Actor Indrans in a screengrab from 'Aalorukkam' trailer.

Best Short Film (Fiction): Mayyat

Best Book on Cinema: 'Matmagi Manipur - The first Manipuri Feature Film' (This is the first time that a book on Manipuri Films has got the award)

(With online desk inputs)

Stay up to date on all the latest Entertainment Hindi news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp