Dharwad Plays Host to Karnataka State Film Awards Ceremony

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah presented the State film awards 2010 and 2011 to the winnners at a colourful function held at Karnataka College Ground here on Sunday.

Published: 10th February 2014 11:51 AM  |   Last Updated: 10th February 2014 11:52 AM   |  A+A-

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah presented the State film awards 2010 and 2011 to the winnners at a colourful function held at Karnataka College Ground here on Sunday.

Actors Puneeth Rajkumar, Ramya, Arjun Sarja, Bhavana, Anant Nag, music director Hamsalekha and others received the awards amid huge applause from audience.

Veteran actor and Housing Minister Ambareesh, filmmaker Nagathihalli Chandrashekhar, writer Baragur Ramachandrappa and others could not attend the function.

Addressing the gathering, Siddaramaiah said the Stte government supports the cause of Kannada films and is providing subsidy to 100 films.

Siddaramaiah asked the Kannada film industry to produce films which send a moral message to the society, depict the local culture, tradition and values.

Siddaramaiah, accompanied by his Cabinet colleagues Roshan Baig, H K Patil, Umashree and Dinesh Gundurao, felicitated the awardees.

Separate enclosures were made for VIPs. The six big LED screens were of no use since the audience thronged the main stage to have a glimpse of their ‘stars’. Cultural programmes followed the awards distribution ceremony.

MLAs Aravind Bellad, Vinay Kulkarni, Abbayya Prasad, N H Konaraddi and Veeranna Mattigatti were present.

Actor Puneet Rajkumar, speaking after the ceremony, urged the audience to continue to see, love and support Kannada films and wished to shoot one of his film in Dharwad in the future.

Award Winners (2010-11)


Dr Rajkumar Award: S Shivaram;
Puttanna Kanagal Award: Bhargava.

Best Film: Magiya Kala (first), Tamassu (second), Manasa (third);
Social Film: Byari;
Best Children’s Film: Ondooralli;
Best Regional Language Film: Na Puttin Mann (Kodava);
Best Actor: Puneeth Rajkumar;
Best Actress: Ramya;
Best Supporting Actor: Achyut Kumar;
Best Supporting Actress: Harshika Poonacha;
Best Dubbing Artist (Male): Shringeri Ramanna;
Dubbing Artist (Female): Anushri;
Best Script Writer: Eshwarachandra;
Best Film Story: Agni Shridhar;
Best Dialogue: Lakshmipati Kolar;
Best Cameraman: B L Babu;
Best Music Director: Jayashri Aravind;
Best Sound Recorder: Palani D Senapati;
Editor: Suresh Urs;
Best Child Artiste (Male): Master Channakumar;
Best Child Artiste (Female): Baby Prakruti;
Best Art Direction: Ismail;
Lyricist: A Bangaru;
Playback Singer (Male): Ravindra Soragavi;
Singer (Female): Rakshat Priyaram;
Special Prize for Graphics Design: Super.


Award Winners (2011-12)


Dr Rajkumar Award: Hamsalekha;
Puttanna Kanagal Award: late D Rajendra Babu
Dr Vishnuvardhan Award: Anant Nag.

Best Film: Prasad (first), Koormavatara (second), Allide Nammane Illi Bande Summane (third);
Social Film: Sarasammana Samadhi;
Best Children’s Film: Kamsale Kaisale;
Popular Film: Sarathi;
Regional Language Film: Ujvadu (Konkani);
Debut Director Best First Film: Sidlingu;
Best Actor: Arjun Sarja;
Best Actress: Bhavana;
Best Supporting Actor:  Shridhar;
Best Supporting Actress: Girija Lokesh;
Best Story: Kum Veerabhadrappa;
Best Script: Ravindra H P Das;
Best Dialogue: Gopi Peenya;
Best Cameraman: G S Bhaskar;
Best Music Director: Anup Seelin,
Best Child Actor (Male): Master Sankalp;
Best Child Actor (Female): Baby Suhasini;
Best Art Director: Eshwari Kumar;
Best Editor: B S Kemparaju;
Best Playback Singer (Male): Aditya Rao;
Best Playback Singer (Female): Archana Udupa;
Special Award for Special Effects: Rajan (Sarathi).

Also Read  I May Not Get This Award Again Says Ramya


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp