'Drishyam' Bags Kerala Film Critics Association Awards

The Kerala Film Critics’ Association has announced its film awards for 2013.

Published: 30th January 2014 08:03 AM  |   Last Updated: 19th April 2014 11:41 AM   |  A+A-


The Kerala Film Critics’ Association has announced its film awards for 2013. The Critics’ Association awards, which could be argued as predictive of the Kerala State Film Awards, judged ‘Drishyam’ the best film released last year.

Drishyam.jpgProduced by Antony Perumbavoor, Drishyam has also won the best director award for Jeethu Joseph. Mohanlal has been adjudged the best actor for his performance in the movie and Remya Nambeesan won the award for best actress for her performance in the films ‘English’ and ‘Nadan’.

The award includes citation, plaque and a cash prize of `1 lakh for the producer of the best film. Best director, actor, actress will be awarded `25,000 and the second best actor and actress will be awarded `10,000 each. The Critic’s association conferred the honourary ‘Chalachitraratnam’ award this year to veteran actor K R Vijaya for her long-standing contribution to the industry.

The movie ‘Ayal’, produced by Madhusoodan Mavelikkara and M T Dileepkumar, won the award for the second best film of last year. While Mukesh won the award for the second best actor (‘English’ and ‘Vasanthathinte Kanalvazhikal’), Mallika won the award for the second best actress (‘Kadhaveedu’).

‘Amen’ won the award for best popular film of 2013. Special jury awards will be given to movies ‘Orissa’, ‘Kunthapura’, ‘Vasanthathinte Kanalvazhikal’ and ‘Pakaram’. While P S Radhakrishnan’s book ‘Drishyaharshathinte Samayarekhakal’ has been judged the best book on cinema, P K Sreenivasan’s book  ‘Kodambakam- Black and White’ won special jury mention. ‘Manninte Manamulla Eenangal’, written by V Lisi Mathews and published serially in Grandalokam magazine won the award for best article on cinema and Chacko D Anthikad’s article ‘Vamshanasham Sambhavikunavarekurichulla Kapada Vilapangal’ won the special mention of jury.

Actors T G Ravi and Mala Aravindan, music composer A J Joseph will be awarded the honourary  ‘Chalachitraprathibha Puraskar’. Other awards are as follows: best children’s film, Philips and the Monkey Pen; best child actor, Sanoop Santhosh (Philips and the Monkey Pen); scriptwriter, P Ananthapadmanabhan (August Club); lyricist, Prabhavarma and Madhu Vasudevan (Nadan); music composer, Ratheesh Vega (Orissa); male singer, Najeem Arshad (Drishyam, Immanuel); female Singer, Jyotsana (Zachariyayude Garbhinikal); cinematography, Udayan Ambadi (English); editing, Sobin K Soman (Ayal); sound editor, Tapas Nayik (Nadan); choreography, Saburam (Memories, Drishyam); costume designer, S B Satheesh(Daivathinte Swantham Cleetus, Teens); make up, Ranjith Ambadi ((Daivathinte Swantham Cleetus, Teens), upcoming actor, Niranjay (Black Butterfly); upcoming director, Sajin Babu (Astamayam Vare), Abin Jacob (Thompson Villa), Krishnajith S Vijayan (Flat No 4B) and Vinod Kumar (Test Paper).Film Critics’ president Thekinkad Joseph, vice-president Poovapally Ramachandran and Atlas Jewellery chairman M M Ramachandran attended the press meet.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp