Tharoor's latest: The future is now

Published: 19th June 2013 05:06 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th June 2013 05:06 PM   |  A+A-


Union Minister of State for Human Resource Development Shashi Tharoor's latest edited book brings together India's young parliamentarians, cutting across ideologies, geographies and political affiliations.

The young men and women who have contributed to 'India: The Future is Now' provide a perspective on a wide range of sectors, ranging from technology to infrastructure, healthcare, education and environmental issues.

Anantkumar Hegde, Anurag Singh Thakur, Hamdullah Sayeed, Jay Panda, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Kalikesh Singh Deo, M.B. Rajesh, Milind Deora, Nishikant Dubey, Poonamben Veljibhai Jat, Priya Dutt Roncon and Sanjay Jaiswal are the twelve parliamentarians who have contributed to this book.

"We were looking for MPs under 40 from different parties and a range of backgrounds, urban-rural, right of centre and left, male and female. In the end, we settled for those MPs under 45 who responded to our requests, and though we got some diversity, I would like to have seen a few more of our younger women MPs contribute," Tharoor said.

The book provides analysis and an insight into India and its role in the world economy.

It is set to be launched in Thiruvananthapuram by Governor Nikhil Kumar Wednesday.

Priced at Rs.495, 'India: The Future is Now (The Vision and Road Map for the Country by Her Young Parliamentarians)' has been published by Wisdom Tree.

Stay up to date on all the latest Books news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp